Is it bad burn or Bad ISO

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by donchen, Apr 3, 2008.

Apr 3, 2008

Is it bad burn or Bad ISO by donchen at 5:43 PM (1,853 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. donchen
    OP

    Member donchen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Singapore
    Hi guys,

    I have Metal Slug iso in my computer. I burnt it at 4x on a Verbatim DVD-R and pop it into my Wii as normal. The games always hang at the SAME place at the start right after showing all the advertisements/sponsors/developers logos.

    Is it due to bad burn or due to bad iso ?
     
  2. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    ------ missed that you mentioned the Verbatim part.-----

    then yes i believe that it was a bad burn
     
  3. donchen
    OP

    Member donchen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Singapore
    I haven't try it another time. After reading the thread "Proof that low speed burning is the fail", i am gonna try to burn at a higher speed and see how it goes.
     
  4. ziddey

    Member ziddey GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    542
    Country:
    United States
    what burner do you have? do a scan of the disc if yo ucan
     
  5. donchen
    OP

    Member donchen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Singapore
    I just reburnt it at 12x and this time even worst. My Wii didn't even reconigze the disk at all.

    My burner is a TSSTcorp CD/DVDW TS-652L.

    A simple google on it, it is by Toshiba Samsung Storage Technology.

    Any solution please ?
     
  6. PSXDupe

    Newcomer PSXDupe Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Think of it this way, there are only a couple of things involved in burning a disc.

    1. The ISO Image
    2. The Blank Media
    3. The Burner
    4. The Software

    1. The media, Verbs are the one of the best, so that rules them out
    2. The software, I have always used ImgBurn without issue, use it
    3. The ISO, are you sure this is 100% ok, if not try burn an ISO that you know is 100% ok
    4. The burner, if you've got this far, then upgrade the firmware, if running the latest firmware, put it in the bin and buy a new one.
     
  7. donchen
    OP

    Member donchen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Singapore
    [​IMG]

    I just had 2 more games with the same problem. Wario Smooth and Rapala

    Above is a pic of my PIPO information of my DVD with Wario Smooth.

    As you can see, the quality is darn good. But why i still get that error ?

    I am using a Verbatim burning at 4x.
     
  8. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    You messed up your numbers
     
  9. Pikachu025

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Did you verify the disc after burning and it verified fine?
     
  10. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    I know that this may be stupid question but have you made sure that the games aren't from an incompatible region.
     
  11. toxicque

    toxicque Newbie

    I had the same problem with viewtiful joe too.
    At first I used verbatim dvd+r and it hang pretty much before I started the game.
    Then reburned it with another media (imation dvd+r) and it worked like a charm.
    So I think the media is your problem.Try burning the game again with tdk or imation.
     
  12. donchen
    OP

    Member donchen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Singapore
    Ok, first of all, the disc verified fine. and had no issue.

    2ndly, yes it is from a different region. I have a Jap Wii and the games are in NTSC-U. But i have checked the GBAtemp wiki website and they mentioned that is should work.

    Moreover, if it is from a different region, it shouldn't be able to start at all right ?
     
  13. donchen
    OP

    Member donchen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Singapore
    just wondering.. how do you guys clean the lens of the wii ?

    or do you guys even clean the lens of the wii ?
     
  14. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    I suggest you don't clean it yourself, as you can permanently damage it.
     
  15. sabatino

    Member sabatino GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    Belgium
    here in belgium they sell cd's wich have a little brush on the downside, and when you put it in a cd/dvd player it cleans the lens [​IMG]
     
  16. donchen
    OP

    Member donchen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Singapore
    yeah.. i am talking about what sabatino is talking about.. that cd with little brush.. is it advicable to do that ?
     

Share This Page