ROM Hack Is Freedoom possible on GBA?

RetroGamer02

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
27
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
Canada
As for me, there is no problem. As long as I don't find the same map multiple times over the course of the various episodes.

So, if you are going to use them in E1, in episode 4 what maps would you put?
I would just disable E4 for now. I was kinda thinking of using E4 levels to fill in all bad levels just for now so the whole game could be played through start to end.

Edit: As for using freeware levels not sure about the legality of that so I would rather not.
 
Last edited by RetroGamer02,
  • Like
Reactions: Nikokaro

Nikokaro

An aphorism a day to improve...my profile
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
917
Trophies
1
Location
Nautilus (under) Lake Como, Italy 🇮🇹
XP
1,567
Country
Italy
A suggestion: As you did in Freeish Doom, why don't you use maps taken from old, simpler and famous freeware wads like Memento Mori, Community Chest, Hell Revealed, Mordeth, Strain, Icarus etc.

Edit: I noticed that you have already responded. Sorry.:wink:
 
Last edited by Nikokaro,

RetroGamer02

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
27
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
Canada
A suggestion: As you did in Freeish Doom, why don't you use maps taken from old, simpler and famous freeware wads like Memento Mori, Community Chest, Hell Revealed, Mordeth, Strain, Icarus etc.

Edit: I noticed that you have already responded. Sorry.:wink:
Please see my edit. Also E1M5 gets to this point then encounters some issues. First most glaring issue is with 2 textures the other is the switch I moved does not seem to work so I need to fix that.
 

Attachments

  • FreeDoom E1M5 Issues.png
    FreeDoom E1M5 Issues.png
    71.7 KB · Views: 25
  • Like
Reactions: Nikokaro

EvilJagaGenius

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
53
Trophies
0
XP
130
Country
United States
Wow, I didn't expect people to take this up! Sorry for dropping off the face of the earth earlier, that would have been around when classes started ramping up.

Nikokaro's suggestion about using older Freedoom maps or other wads sounds like good sense to me, if it's feasible. The biggest thing I would worry about with using episode 4 maps as replacements would be a difficulty spike. Aren't episode 4's maps supposed to be more difficult than the previous 3? It might clash tonally with the other maps too - like episode 1 is supposed to be techbases, episode 3 is demonic, episode 2 somewhere in between. It could work, but just be careful with the replacements.

I'll see if I can find the time to try this out, this is cool stuff.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Nikokaro

RetroGamer02

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
27
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
Canada
Wow, I didn't expect people to take this up! Sorry for dropping off the face of the earth earlier, that would have been around when classes started ramping up.

Nikokaro's suggestion about using older Freedoom maps or other wads sounds like good sense to me, if it's feasible. The biggest thing I would worry about with using episode 4 maps as replacements would be a difficulty spike. Aren't episode 4's maps supposed to be more difficult than the previous 3? It might clash tonally with the other maps too - like episode 1 is supposed to be techbases, episode 3 is demonic, episode 2 somewhere in between. It could work, but just be careful with the replacements.

I'll see if I can find the time to try this out, this is cool stuff.
E4 levels would probably be harder yes. Right now I just want to find something I know would be legal to use to fill in the bad levels just for now till I can simplify the failing maps.

Also would be happy for any testers. =)

Heres a link to the current test build if someone wants to try it still has above issues.
Edit: Fixed bad textures but not sure yet how to fix the switch.
https://mega.nz/file/DXAUFRZB#Q91yAKuff5f-UcHWuPBideS4k54rvwjlTM5x789xA0c

If I can figure out how to edit the line pointing to the wrong object here in the picture I think I can fix the switch its just figuring out how.
 

Attachments

  • Switch pointing to random wall.png
    Switch pointing to random wall.png
    306.8 KB · Views: 26
Last edited by RetroGamer02,

RetroGamer02

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
27
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
Canada
It seems that FreeDoom E1M6 only needed a few changes to be able load it still lags in spots but can be played from start to end. :D

New test link
https://mega.nz/file/vfQnnAjD#39cXgusELawiHfhe5bd0eKNAPPM3yg5c9_OEXtPH6S0

Edit:
A pic of current E1M7 Progress. A surprising amount of the map is for viewing only.

Edit 2: E1M7 is almost ready it loads but will likely crash at this point.
 

Attachments

  • FreeDoom E1M7 Progress.png
    FreeDoom E1M7 Progress.png
    293 KB · Views: 19
  • FreeDoom E1M7 Progress 2.png
    FreeDoom E1M7 Progress 2.png
    332.2 KB · Views: 19
  • FreeDoom E1M7 Loads.png
    FreeDoom E1M7 Loads.png
    73.9 KB · Views: 22
Last edited by RetroGamer02,

RetroGamer02

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
27
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
Canada
New test rom includes E1M7 ready for testing. =)
Still need to reduce E1M6 lag I was just eager to get started on E1M7.
https://mega.nz/file/HSYWFZpJ#jK-3Kk2ALja9Xc46tg4NYFMHkcHVJbrfhCJOctxDJq0
Edit noticed I removed something important will hopefully release a fix soon.
Edit 2: Fixed wall that would not open.
Edit 3: Fixed some funky textures.
Edit 4: E1M7 works fully and some other levels have been optimized a tad.
 
Last edited by RetroGamer02,

EvilJagaGenius

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
53
Trophies
0
XP
130
Country
United States
Got through E1 on the latest build. Thoughts:
- First of all, huge respect for getting Freedoom's music and SFX on the GBA. It sounds wonderful with the right sound in place. The between-levels tune is still the original chiptune Doom one but that's minor.
- E1M4: I noticed the boxes at the top of the elevator were gone, maybe some other boxes. I get this was for performance or memory savings, but that spot feels really... bare now. Could you cut detail elsewhere to keep a few boxes up there, or maybe replace them with barrels?
- E1M5: I forgot what a labyrinth this was... I'm impressed that it's working but it's also where I have the most nitpicks.
--- At the start, the pair of pistol zombies on the elevator floor don't come up. You could get rid of the pit in the floor and just spawn the zombies with everything else, maybe facing away from the player.
--- The staircases on the sides of the start area have their windows filled in, but now the textures are misaligned.
--- Some of the switches don't change texture on activation - there's a skull switch on a blue wall, and a lever switch near the teleporters near the end
--- Like E1M4, the edited areas at the end look bare. Biggest offender is a green room with tech pipes and slime pits getting reduced to... just a big green room. Same thing as E1M4, could you cut detail elsewhere to add the tech pipes and maybe simplified slime puddles? Another room that contained a switch and windows looking out had the windows replaced with a grey wall. Maybe you could replace the grey wall with computer display textures?
- E1M6: Well, it chugs, but it runs. I wouldn't mind if you blocked out some windows to save on performance and also to keep me from getting sniped by imps and shotgunners.
- E1M7: I had quite a bit of trouble getting to this one. For some reason, the save I dropped here vanished. I'm using an EZ Flash Omega which does have a history of savegame troubles, but usually it behaves itself... I came back using the level skip cheat, but the first time I tried that it crashed, failing a memory allocation. Second level skip worked, I punched in the IDKFA code and started exploring.
--- This map seemed to perform quite well outside of that. The close quarters and whatever other optimizations you did work to its advantage. I took a different route then when I played Freedoom on my PC, even finding a secret area I had no idea about before, not sure if that was due to your tweaks or IDKFA
- For some reason, the map names shown in the automap and the ending texts are from Doom 2, not Freedoom. Some other strings might be from Doom 2 as well, but I know some were from Freedoom, like the weapon pickups... I don't know what's up with that or how you might fix it.
- When you get a moment, could you push these latest changes to Github? I like playing Freedoom with some pickup and object sprites replaced with older versions, like health/armor pickups, barrels, ammo boxes... I'm curious to see if some of these older sprites might show up better on the GBA's screen.

My apologies if I come off overly negative here, I am really impressed and I love that Freedoom is almost working properly in this port now. And with the music too! Mad respect.
 

RetroGamer02

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
27
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
Canada
Got through E1 on the latest build. Thoughts:
- First of all, huge respect for getting Freedoom's music and SFX on the GBA. It sounds wonderful with the right sound in place. The between-levels tune is still the original chiptune Doom one but that's minor.
- E1M4: I noticed the boxes at the top of the elevator were gone, maybe some other boxes. I get this was for performance or memory savings, but that spot feels really... bare now. Could you cut detail elsewhere to keep a few boxes up there, or maybe replace them with barrels?
- E1M5: I forgot what a labyrinth this was... I'm impressed that it's working but it's also where I have the most nitpicks.
--- At the start, the pair of pistol zombies on the elevator floor don't come up. You could get rid of the pit in the floor and just spawn the zombies with everything else, maybe facing away from the player.
--- The staircases on the sides of the start area have their windows filled in, but now the textures are misaligned.
--- Some of the switches don't change texture on activation - there's a skull switch on a blue wall, and a lever switch near the teleporters near the end
--- Like E1M4, the edited areas at the end look bare. Biggest offender is a green room with tech pipes and slime pits getting reduced to... just a big green room. Same thing as E1M4, could you cut detail elsewhere to add the tech pipes and maybe simplified slime puddles? Another room that contained a switch and windows looking out had the windows replaced with a grey wall. Maybe you could replace the grey wall with computer display textures?
- E1M6: Well, it chugs, but it runs. I wouldn't mind if you blocked out some windows to save on performance and also to keep me from getting sniped by imps and shotgunners.
- E1M7: I had quite a bit of trouble getting to this one. For some reason, the save I dropped here vanished. I'm using an EZ Flash Omega which does have a history of savegame troubles, but usually it behaves itself... I came back using the level skip cheat, but the first time I tried that it crashed, failing a memory allocation. Second level skip worked, I punched in the IDKFA code and started exploring.
--- This map seemed to perform quite well outside of that. The close quarters and whatever other optimizations you did work to its advantage. I took a different route then when I played Freedoom on my PC, even finding a secret area I had no idea about before, not sure if that was due to your tweaks or IDKFA
- For some reason, the map names shown in the automap and the ending texts are from Doom 2, not Freedoom. Some other strings might be from Doom 2 as well, but I know some were from Freedoom, like the weapon pickups... I don't know what's up with that or how you might fix it.
- When you get a moment, could you push these latest changes to Github? I like playing Freedoom with some pickup and object sprites replaced with older versions, like health/armor pickups, barrels, ammo boxes... I'm curious to see if some of these older sprites might show up better on the GBA's screen.

My apologies if I come off overly negative here, I am really impressed and I love that Freedoom is almost working properly in this port now. And with the music too! Mad respect.
Thank you for your through review I have no issue with the negative how else is the port to improve right?
I will do my best to address these issues soon. I was trying to get Fast Doom's Saturn style transparency working but have been having some trouble with it. See the pic for how that looks right now lol. For the area's that feel bare I will try to add something but understand that GBA ram is only 256kb and is very precious.

Edit: The save issue could be it running out of ram while making the save as it has to keep the level loaded and a save buffer. it could also be your flash cart idk. I use a Everdrive GBA X5.
 

Attachments

  • FreeDoom Saturn Shadows WIP.png
    FreeDoom Saturn Shadows WIP.png
    104.9 KB · Views: 20
Last edited by RetroGamer02,

RetroGamer02

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
27
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
Canada
Current progress report on Jagga's requests and new build:
https://github.com/RetroGamer02/GBAFreeDoom/issues/2
Some of the changes requested are in the new build but not all.
In addition E1M1, E1M2 were altered a tad more for better fps in certain area's.
https://mega.nz/file/2CYRBCSJ#9p_DvC3iEDUrKJLc3Pggk8t6DFxToO9EP9Jcn5SYTGI

Edit: Working on altering the title pic for easier reading of copyright and version number.
Edit 2: Auto map names fixed was using Doom 2's map names for some reason.
Edit 3: Auto map names, FreeDoom level transition music and new Title Pic for easier reading.
Link above updated with new build.
 

Attachments

  • FreeDoom TitlePic WIP.png
    FreeDoom TitlePic WIP.png
    77.9 KB · Views: 14
  • FD AutoMap names corrected.png
    FD AutoMap names corrected.png
    43.9 KB · Views: 9
Last edited by RetroGamer02,
  • Like
Reactions: EvilJagaGenius

EvilJagaGenius

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
53
Trophies
0
XP
130
Country
United States
Out of curiosity, how much would using smaller assets in the wad help save RAM/ROM? I have two wads in this zip file, jaga.changed.wad has some older Freedoom sprites I like and saves 2-4KB. jaga.memory.wad uses some uglier sprites (IMO) but saves about 10KB.
 

Attachments

  • jaga_wads.zip
    44.2 KB · Views: 9

RetroGamer02

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
27
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
Canada
Out of curiosity, how much would using smaller assets in the wad help save RAM/ROM? I have two wads in this zip file, jaga.changed.wad has some older Freedoom sprites I like and saves 2-4KB. jaga.memory.wad uses some uglier sprites (IMO) but saves about 10KB.

I had a look and I don't think it will make much of a difference and I think for the most part I preferer the new graphics sorry Jaga.
I think ill stick with the current graphics.
 

RetroGamer02

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
27
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
Canada
Now that we are out of temp mode. The next release could take a bit E2M5 seems like a large map and will require a decent amount of work to get working right. I will hopefully have it ready in a week if things go well.
 

EvilJagaGenius

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
53
Trophies
0
XP
130
Country
United States
No worries about the graphics, it's very much a personal preference. I played through E1M4-6 again though and I think the changes are good! Take as much time as you need for the other maps.
 

Nikokaro

An aphorism a day to improve...my profile
OP
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2020
Messages
917
Trophies
1
Location
Nautilus (under) Lake Como, Italy 🇮🇹
XP
1,567
Country
Italy
Hi @RetroGamer02
You haven't updated your project in a few weeks. How is it coming along? You haven't thrown in the towel, have you?
🤔
Just know that I'm rooting for you. Unfortunately I don't have much free time lately, just to write some silliness here on my profile....😅😂🤣
As soon as it's finished, I'll be pushing to be among the first to play it, I assure you! I really appreciate your work, and know that it will not be in vain....😘
 

RetroGamer02

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 15, 2021
Messages
27
Trophies
0
XP
78
Country
Canada
Hi @RetroGamer02
You haven't updated your project in a few weeks. How is it coming along? You haven't thrown in the towel, have you?
🤔
Just know that I'm rooting for you. Unfortunately I don't have much free time lately, just to write some silliness here on my profile....😅😂🤣
As soon as it's finished, I'll be pushing to be among the first to play it, I assure you! I really appreciate your work, and know that it will not be in vain....😘
Thank you for your support. I have not given up on the project and I'm sorry for lack of updates. Life has somewhat gotten in the way as of late and I apologize for not having the next map ready when I stated I would.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Nikokaro
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    SG854 @ SG854: The comedians are going to have a field day with this