1. XtremeTemp

    OP XtremeTemp Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    I'm sure many of us want this, is there a current one or is there one being made? I don't mind doing the process over and over again but it does get annoying due to the switch restarting every time you remove the sd card, but having a ftp client on switch so we could keep our SD card in our switch at all times, which would be great.

    Any answer would be appreciated :)
     
  2. subcon959

    subcon959 teh retro
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,894
    Country:
    ftpd from switchbrew works fine.
     
    NorthHopper, Coc4tm and SkillingCat like this.
  3. Centergaming

    Centergaming GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2016
    Messages:
    694
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't work on 5.0.2. I got 0.0.0.0:5000, It's not recognizing the ip address.
     
  4. subcon959

    subcon959 teh retro
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,894
    Country:
    It's a known cosmetic bug, it still works fine regardless.
     
    Coc4tm and Centergaming like this.
  5. Zyvyn

    Zyvyn GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,815
    Country:
    United States
    because thats not the switches IP its just not displaying it correctly though you would have to wait for someone else to answer on how to get the ip
     
  6. subcon959

    subcon959 teh retro
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,894
    Country:
    From normal internet settings
     
  7. william341

    william341 Last remaining VinsClone
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    391
    Country:
    United States
    Use the network settings to get the local IP.
     
  8. Ty_

    Ty_ GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    System Settings > Internet

    Then in connection status under IP address. For example mine is 192.168.0.11, so the FTP for me is 192.168.0.11:5000. And I can confirm this works on 5.0.2, I've used it a bunch for loading .nro files onto the SD card
     
  9. subcon959

    subcon959 teh retro
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,894
    Country:
    Does it work for downloading yet or still errors out?
     
  10. Ty_

    Ty_ GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not tried downloading specifically but uploading, moving files and deleting works fine
     
  11. Knucklesfan

    Knucklesfan GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    United States
    i confirm that downloading does not work.in 5.x.x
     
  12. XtremeTemp

    OP XtremeTemp Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    Luv u m8.

    Haven't had to restart it since :D
     
  13. PatrickD85

    PatrickD85 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    690
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yep ftpd works fine.
    Quick side node; folders created through OSX on SD cards seem to be a real swing and miss.
    If you face issues, please use ftpd to create the folders then it will be fine.
     
    hippy dave likes this.
  14. PewnyPL

    PewnyPL GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    Poland
    FTP Server, not client. Huge difference.
     
  15. phonz

    phonz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2018
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm looking forward to a fully working FTP server as well.
    FTPd still doesn't like it when you download some files from it to PC, ie Checkpoint save game backups
     
    Last edited by phonz, May 28, 2018
    Leonidas87 likes this.
  16. BlastedGuy9905

    BlastedGuy9905 where's the updated autopsy report
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    2,279
    Country:
    United States
    If you know your Switch's local ip, you can still connect.
     
    baretbh likes this.
  17. XtremeTemp

    OP XtremeTemp Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    Yea i had that problem, just connect using something like WinSCP on your Switch's local IP which you can find in network settings like Example.Example.Example.Example:5000 and it should work.

    [​IMG]

    :P
     
    Last edited by XtremeTemp, May 27, 2018
    phonz likes this.
  18. Thulinma

    Thulinma Computer Magician
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Country:
    Netherlands
    0.0.0.0 is IPv4 bind syntax for "all interfaces". It's not a bug and not an error. It just means that it's listening on not one particular address, but on all valid network addresses the console has.
     
    Ty_ likes this.
  19. baretbh

    baretbh GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2018
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    Mexico
    Does this work for 5.0.2? I would love to test it out!
     
  20. phonz

    phonz GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2018
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    Canada
    works, but as I said, some files can't be properly downloaded from the Switch. It's a known issue though.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - developing, currently, currently