Is AKAIO 1.6 RC3 coming soon?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by alaCarter, Apr 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Apr 19, 2010
  1. alaCarter
    OP

    Newcomer alaCarter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Is it coming out? I read on the website that there was already a fix for the new batch of Acekards, and the next release was coming "soon." But that was 3 weeks ago. I've since rolled back to an older version of the official firmware, but I want to play newer games like Warioware DIY and SMT: Strange Journey, and be able to play newer games down the line.

    Has anybody heard anything about when it will come out?
     


  2. highanimalhouse

    Member highanimalhouse GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    United States
    There is RC2 that I think allows you to play WarioWare D.I.Y. and SMT: Strange Journey.

    Plus, the people who do the firmware update asks that NO ONE complain about it taking so long. Otherwise, there won't be anymore updates.
     
  3. Jemlee

    Member Jemlee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Arwing
    Country:
    Japan
    ...sigh... don't be a noob please [​IMG]

    It will be out when it's out, just let Normatt do his thing there's no reason to update as of now until there's a new release anyway.
     
  4. L551

    Member L551 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Country:
    United States
    Except for the "Again" Freeze AP >.>
     
  5. alaCarter
    OP

    Newcomer alaCarter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    I don't believe I was complaining. I simply asked if anyone knew anything about a new RC. Also, did you read my post? Of course there is a reason to update, many people like me are stuck not being able to save games unless we format everything and go back to the crappy official firmware. And the guys on the AKAIO team are the only people with a solution. Listen, I am very thankful for how these guys are continuing to support a card that would be dead otherwise, I'm just curious.

    >noob
    hahahaha oh wow
     
  6. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    those games work fine for me on RC2
     
  7. Jemlee

    Member Jemlee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Arwing
    Country:
    Japan
    ...Interesting... I wasn't aware of this.[​IMG]

    Because I updated without issues as well as all members of team 4r\/\/i|\|9. We did not face any issues with RC2.

    Pls enlighten me, you can't save? It freezes?

    Even warioware DIY and SMT works perfectly...What's the problem?
     
  8. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    Code:
    [08:51] * Topic is 'Official: v1.6RC2 Beta: 1.6RC3 Gauntlet Edition | http://akaio.gbatemp.net | http://tinyurl.com/AKAIO-WIKI2 | http://akaio.gbatemp.net/nloaders | http://akaio.gbatemp.net/wifi | http://tinyurl.com/Ackard-IRC-Stats | http://normmatt.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=410 | all fail 'the normmatt''
    [08:51] * Set by j-live on Sun Apr 18 14:00:25
    i hear that if you chat in #acekard often and and discuss your opinion of xbox 360 then you get in his good books

    i used to be in beta team till norm realized ui had no ps3 or 360 :'(

    edit: just for clarification the build for the "broken" 2.1s like yours is called 'gay edition' due to the colors used for loading text in that version
     
  9. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    That is if he was able to run those games on RC2. He can't launch RC2 because he has a the bad batch. He has to use the official firmware.
     
  10. Jemlee

    Member Jemlee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Arwing
    Country:
    Japan
    May I remind you that you're the failure here since all these games you mentioned work perfectly?
     
  11. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    server is irc2.gbatemp.net:5190

    that is port 5190
    on server irc2.gbatemp.net

    You can use http://www.mibbit.com/ to connect or a real client like mirc [​IMG]
     
  12. Jemlee

    Member Jemlee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Arwing
    Country:
    Japan
    Lol so alastar basically just got a faulty AK2?

    Kinda your own fault don't you think allY? [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  13. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    my god, you noob
    it's an entire batch. a well know problem
    try to keep up before you insult people :\
     
  14. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How is it his fault? Do you think he wrote to whoever sold it to him and said "Oh please can you send me one from the faulty batch, I want to encounter loads of problems and not be able to run AKAIO"?

    edit : Merc beat me to it!
     
  15. Jemlee

    Member Jemlee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Arwing
    Country:
    Japan
    He can easily buy another one unless it costs his life :duh:
    Aks are pretty cheap anyway.
     
  16. alaCarter
    OP

    Newcomer alaCarter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    I got one of the "defective" carts produced after Dec 09, but I just recently read in a thread on this board that the carts are not defective, but just new hardware or something that isn't supported by the official firmware or the latest version of AKAIO. With the official firmware, games will freeze upon trying to save, and with AKAIO 1.6 RC2 games won't start at all. normmatt said the fix would be included in the next RC. I checked, and the gap between RC1 and 2 was like 2 weeks long, so I was just wondering if it was normal that there was this long of a wait period in between firmware updates.

    Also, I'm surprised at how fast this board is.
     
  17. Jemlee

    Member Jemlee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Arwing
    Country:
    Japan
    anyway back to the original issue (sorry i guess), I'm going to assume that RC3 could work with tthe faulty batch?
     
  18. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sometimes the wait period can be a while, more than a couple of weeks. The reason RC2 was released so soon after RC1 is because loads of whiney kiddies were making noise about not being able to play some game or other, so normmatt got pissed off and released RC2 to shut them up.
     
  19. alaCarter
    OP

    Newcomer alaCarter Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    It will. At least that's what normmatt said.
     
  20. Jemlee

    Member Jemlee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Arwing
    Country:
    Japan

    AH! apologies, I usually help with the AK issues but the post count made me misjudge you. We're fast cuz we wanna help, and in this case I wasn't aware you were using the faulty batch. Hmmm, the next RC I'm guessing will be released at the same time as a highly anticipated nds game release. Anyone think this theory is correct?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page