Is a kingston Taiwan card good?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Zaiga, May 23, 2008.

May 23, 2008

Is a kingston Taiwan card good? by Zaiga at 2:56 AM (1,264 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Zaiga
    OP

    Member Zaiga GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Canada
    As the title says, I have a 2gb Kingston Taiwan micro SD card and I was wondering if it will run at a normal speed with the Acekard 2. I heard that the Taiwan card is pretty slow, but it's all I have right now. Thanks.
     
  2. Veign06

    Member Veign06 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    United States
    Ive heard bad and good things myself...got a 2gb japan one and a 4gb taiwan. Both load on AK2 exactly the same for me, so far so good. Most people say Japan made are the best, and twn are the ones to avoid, but some say exactly the opposite too. I ordered my 4gb off amazon (wasnt thinking) and it ended up being twn. Havent had any problems out of it yet tho.
     
  3. Zaiga
    OP

    Member Zaiga GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    264
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay, thanks for the help. I'll stick with it then.
     
  4. Rice923

    Member Rice923 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United States
    How can i find out where my microSD came from? Is it simply stated as "Made in ______" on the packaging
     
  5. link459

    Member link459 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    People who say there's something wrong with the one's in Taiwan just have a superiority complex they need to fulfill. [​IMG]

    From my experience, both Japan and Taiwan made Kingston SD cards work exactly the same.
     
  6. Rice923

    Member Rice923 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United States
    Just checked my microSD card and it says made in taiwan. It works perfectly fine. My gf and her little sister also use the same 2gb taiwan card and its normal.
     
  7. EN!GMA

    Member EN!GMA GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 2gb taiwan, and it works fine. No glitching or freezing except on those already know to have problems anyway, and it passes the castlevania benchmarks no prob.
     

Share This Page