Ironic. Should have not tried to revert back

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by gavane, Aug 13, 2009.

Aug 13, 2009
  1. gavane
    OP

    Newcomer gavane Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    After reading the forums for about 6 hours I am fairly certain I will have to send the Wii back for repairs. Funny because all I wanted to do was get a 'normal' Wii back, no mods, no HBC, nothing.

    TLDR version at the bottom.

    I don't have Wifi but I wanted to update to 4.1 so I rented the latest Nintendo game I could find. It ended up being the Tiger Woods PGA 10 game and I found out that only booted me up to 3.4U. So I went to Walmart, bought an SD to USB adapter (all I had were SDHC mini and an old SD card), and followed instructions in the Offline Update thread. The instructions to me were hard to follow since it seems the walkthrough was made for a prior version that had some modified options. Anyways, to make a long story shorter; the LU62 Wii could not update to 4.1 (kept getting hash errors even though MooSFV gave a clear) and got 4.0 working once.

    I then followed the rest of the guide and got Bootmii on IOS and preloader up. I still was getting errors so after a few hours of uninstalling and reinstalling (ends up the hash error hit the new 4.0 ones I downloaded later too) I just wanted to call it quits. I wanted to get rid of everything, so I thought of using the Wii format tool. I read some on it and decided not to.

    I used NandClean to get rid of preloader but that just got rid of its configs. The last option in the menu of NandClean was something about installing a SystemMenu before using it to completely remove preloader, so I hesitated and spent another hour searching the forums for that. The consensus that I got (I really couldn't find anything against it [​IMG] ) I needed SystemMenu-v289.wad to install over preloader to remove it. It was recommended to get it from the NTSC Semi-brick fix using Wiiscrubber and I did. I used WadManager to install it over preloader and then the Wii bricked. I'm almost fairly certain I shouldn't have done that (it worked for others so and it seemed like the 'cool' thing to do, curse you peer pressure!) but I don't know why. I was following instructions but they were probably for someone in a different situation, all in all I screwed up without knowing it.


    TLDR Version:

    Brand new LU62 3.4U Wii.
    Install Homebrew Channel.
    Install Bootmii on IOS.
    Trucha Bug Restorer run and eventually set for 4.0U (from the offline update guide).
    Ran cIOS36_rev10-Installer. (I didn't even need this, no clue why I installed. Guess I didn't want to skip numbers =P)
    Installed WADs using WadManager.
    Installed Preloader .29
    Wanted to remove preloader, then Bootmi, then Homebrew.
    Found out only way to get rid of preloader is to override it with a SystemMenu (or so it seemed).
    Got SystemMenu-v289 for the US Wii.
    Used WadManager to install it.
    Brick.

    I don't get a video signal anymore, the CD tray light only flashes once when booted up, holding reset does nothing, holding + and - does nothing. I still have preloader and bootmii on the SD card along with their respective files. I already gave up. I just wanted a normal Wii back but I screwed it up. I don't have a Gamecube controller so I can't use that fix. Is there any alternative to sending it back?
     


  2. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    You installed 3.2 system menu on a boot2v4 wii (lu64). Bricked for good.
     
  3. gavane
    OP

    Newcomer gavane Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Wow. I think you're the fastest person that has ever responded to a post I made in my life lol.

    Thanks for clearing that up. I thought a boot2v4 wii is LU64+ only? But I see now that the system menu was the wrong version, egg on my face lol.
     
  4. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    Well I assume its a boot2v4 otherwise why would it brick? You could check... if it wasn't bricked
     
  5. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The problem is either that it's a boot2v4 Wii, or it could simply be due to the fact that you didn't install an older version of IOS30 before installing 3.2u. When you update it's replaced by an unusable stub IOS.

    Either way, I don't see why so many people try to "unhack" a Wii. It's kinda pointless IMO.
     
  6. kama

    Newcomer kama Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    I got bricked by the exact same WAD you did, except I have a LU10 Wii. Being that old, I lost A LOT more stuff than you did though.
     
  7. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    Fenrir has a point about ios30
     
  8. gavane
    OP

    Newcomer gavane Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I shouldn't really have tried to mod it since there wasn't any function that I would have gained.

    Thank you for your replies.
     
  9. supagusti

    Member supagusti GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    Austria
    Me too... [​IMG]
     
  10. gavane
    OP

    Newcomer gavane Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Well I took it back to the store (it was only 3 days old) and told them that when I tried to update the SystemMenu on the Wii it rebooted into a black screen. They asked me what I had on it and I told them HBC but they were confused since they were talking about Nintendo points and all. They tried it out there and saw it wouldn't work and exchanged it for a different one. I don't think the sales rep actually knew what a bricked Wii was even though I basically led her into my installing HBC, Bootmii etc, she just had a dazed look.
     
  11. WiiThoko

    Member WiiThoko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    Well how the hell would they know what the HBC was? You should have just said it didn't work when you updated and left it at that.
     
  12. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Wow....you lucky bastard, inspite telling the sales person it was your fault, you demanded for a new unit [​IMG]
     
  13. hankarlo

    Newcomer hankarlo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    Ireland
    The store obviously didnt know what you had tried to do, otherwise I dont think they where obliged to change it for you. Lucky you, well done!

    BTW coz you didnt install IOS30 before you installed the SysMenu, probaly caused the brick.
     
  14. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    i bet she was a dumb blond teenager wasn't she?! [​IMG]
     
  15. chrisf

    Banned chrisf Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United States
    ARE YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME????? dont install homebrew on your new wii. you are too stoopid.
     
  16. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    ...Why not? It'll work just fine on any Wii.
     
  17. Black_Knight_666

    Member Black_Knight_666 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Oh dont be a wuss... ha ha. As long as you know what your doing when ur installing the hbc, ur fine [​IMG]
     
  18. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    WHY are you even in here? [​IMG]
     
  19. gavane
    OP

    Newcomer gavane Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Actually blond in the front black in the back, one of those 2 tone hair dues lol.
     
  20. grentuu

    Member grentuu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You mean the curtains don't match the carpet.......shock [​IMG]
     

Share This Page