iPod Touch

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Linkiboy, Apr 2, 2008.

Apr 2, 2008

iPod Touch by Linkiboy at 4:07 AM (1,690 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Linkiboy
    OP

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Well, having tried one out and liking it, I'm thinking of getting one, for the youtube enabled browser and the abilltiy to download videos and 3rd party apps. Do iPhone apps work on iPod touch? Will I need to do anything to the Touch before running 3rd party apps?
     
  2. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    zodttd.com
     
  3. Harpuia

    Member Harpuia GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Location:
    My House
    Country:
    United States
    Things look pretty promising here.. I have a Touch but I still use my Video for the convenience.

    Just wondering - any news for jailbreaking 32gig or is it still unstable?
     
  4. Awdofgum

    Member Awdofgum Wadofgum

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,884
    Country:
    United States
  5. scubersteve

    scubersteve Newbie

    you gotta jailbreak it to run 3rd party apps...
    as for the iphone apps...
    they SHOULD work.
    no reason they wouldn't, unless it requires a mic.
     
  6. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Even if they require a mic, there are ways.

    If you get something like Motorola bluetooth headphones, that come with an iPod adapter ... it's what I use with my iPod Touch at the gym ... they have a built-in mic, which is totally concealed ... I know a few people who have them, and had no idea that they could use them with their bluetooth phones as hands-free headsets ... you can also use them as a headset for a PS3 ... anyway, I digress ... what I'm saying is, with the right additional hardware, it's possible.

    The Touch is basically a restricted iPhone ... the phone function and the bluetooth are disabled ... the bluetooth, mic & speaker have been removed, in fact ... but the chipset is the same as the iPhone ... I have this on good authority from a friend who works for Apple ... almost anything you can do on an iPhone, you can do on a Touch.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  7. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    You can use all aps on a Ipod touch that just dont uses the camera or cell phone abbilities.
     
  8. jpxdude

    Member jpxdude GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    768
    Location:
    London UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One of the most impressive apps i've seen on it recently is ScummVM! Contemplating getting one for touch screen, portable Monkey Island! woohoo!
     
  9. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    might give it a try [​IMG] but my fav apps are genesis4iphone and gpsphone

    w00t 400TH Post [​IMG]
     
  10. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    I hope you're joking because the DS has had ScummVM for ages now lol
     
  11. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He means ScummVM for the iPod Touch/iPhone ... many systems have had ScummVM for some time.
     
  12. Awdofgum

    Member Awdofgum Wadofgum

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,884
    Country:
    United States
    just a question, how easy is it to jailbreak an itouch if i buy it in about a month? Is it any different cause i wanna get one just for gpSphone.
     
  13. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    I am surprised that no one mentioned emulators...
    Get a PS3 emulator... just kidding.
    I believe there is an NES, GBA and SNES emulator.
    There was definitely a PSX emulator, but it only works for lower level games (2d games). Do some research on it.

    -Edit- oops, I guess they did... [​IMG]
     
  14. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    I know that, I'm just wondering why he hasn't just used the DS one yet, it's got touchscreen and everything!
     
  15. TaeK

    Member TaeK GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Everything app that works on the iPhone works on the iTouch, just none that need a microphone, camera or phone.

    I got 32GB iTouch and jailbroke it with ZiPhone and it's easy to do, 1 click literally. http://www.ziphone.org
     
  16. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ive just remebered what scummVM is last night lol thats why i havnt tryed the ds version
     

Share This Page