Hacking IOS70 and System Menu 4.2?

xtremeshredder

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
United States
ok, i have installed cioscorp 3.6 successfully, and i am looking at a guide to install system menu 4.2 (http://adewii.wordpress.com/2009/10/17/howto-safely-upgrade-to-system-menu-4-2/) and it says to install another IOS70 (IOS70-64-6687.wad), and the cIOScorp 3.6 guide says not to overwrite IOS70. Does this mean i should only install the System Menu 4.2 .wad?
 

xtremeshredder

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
United States
here is what signcheck says about IOS70:

Analyzed IOS70(rev65535)
Trucha Bug: Disabled
Flash Access: Disabled
Boot2 access: Disabled
Usb 2.0 IOS tree: Disabled
 

BBking83

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
676
Trophies
0
Location
Australia
XP
214
Country
Hang on...

IOS70 = IOS60 v6174 with rev13 DIP + ES_Identify Patch

So DON'T install the SM. Just stay on 4.1.

EDIT:
cIOSCORP v3.6 should also allow region-changed Korean Wiis to run
System Menu 4.2x without the #003 error. Just be sure to install
cIOSCORP v3.6 BEFORE installing System Menu 4.2x, and DON'T OVERWRITE
IOS70! An example way to update a region-changed Korean Wii to 4.2
(without breaking it) is:

1. First install cIOSCORP v3.6
2. Then install the System Menu 4.2x wad of the region that you
changed to using Wad Manager.


Reading that you should be able to install the SM without installing a proper/correct IOS70 but seeing as IOS70 is the latest IOS60 non-stub, maxed out (sorry, it's not maxed out) into slot IOS70 I'm really not sure on how safe it is to install the SM of your region.

Again, I don't have cIOSCORP.
 

xtremeshredder

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
United States
then how can i skip the Wii System Update notice if im not on the latest system menu. it will not let me play whenever i try to play a new game, for example, New Super Mario Brothers Wii?
 

BBking83

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
676
Trophies
0
Location
Australia
XP
214
Country
I guess?? I suggest to uninstall cIOSCORP beforehand, though.

You could PM da_letter_a and ask if you can install just the SM? He doesn't mind helping out.
smile.gif
 

happydance

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 16, 2009
Messages
598
Trophies
0
XP
349
Country
got cIOSCORP 3.6 and i usually just install the SM 4.2 after that

and as a precaution i reinstall preloader after i installed the SM 4.2 when wadmanager returns to HBC
 

xtremeshredder

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
United States
happydance said:
got cIOSCORP 3.6 and i usually just install the SM 4.2 after that

and as a precaution i reinstall preloader after i installed the SM 4.2 when wadmanager returns to HBC

should i? bbking83 just said not to install SM 4.2...
 

xtremeshredder

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
United States
i read it, but what does this mean "You have to edit the 000000010000003C to 0000000100000046, then resign and repack the wad. most wad packers will do the trucha signing for you.
" it sounds like i have to do a little more work than install the SM over it...
 

BBking83

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2008
Messages
676
Trophies
0
Location
Australia
XP
214
Country
You have to edit the 000000010000003C to 0000000100000046 just means you have to do that to the IOS60-64-v6174.wad so it'll install into the IOS70 slot, which cIOSCORP v3.6 has already done for you.

By the sounds of things you can simply install the SM (like in the first post) but you don't really need to. 4.1 is fine.

BTW, you said you got the Priiloader hacks to work, right?
QUOTE said:
will i never be able to update to 4.2 because of my IOS70?

EDIT: oh, and Priiloader .30 is working, thanks...
 

xtremeshredder

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
12
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
United States
yeah i did, i couldnt before though which is why i was asking how to update to 4.2, and then i was asking if it was even possible after i got priiloader to work.
 

damysteryman

I am too busy IRL these days...
Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
1,223
Trophies
0
XP
998
Country
Antarctica
@xtremeshredder:
If you already installed cIOSCORP v3.5 or v3.6, then cIOSCORP will have already installed a form of IOS70 for you, so you can install a System menu 4.2 wad of your region without problems (no need to install IOS70-64-v6687.wad). I suggest installing priiloader afterwards however, so you can use useful hacks.

But of course, before any major software modification, make a NAND backup with bootmii.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu: I've got a 2017 MacBook Pro, the one with the Touch Bar thing above the keyboard; well, today I...