IOS3 present in "my" wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by carbonyle, Jan 18, 2010.

Jan 18, 2010

IOS3 present in "my" wii by carbonyle at 6:09 PM (4,769 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. carbonyle
    OP

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I'm just hacking a Wii right now and this one has an IOS3. According to this: http://wiibrew.org/wiki/IOS_History it should be a so called stub IOS. But this is the first time I see this IOS3 on a Wii (I have hacked something like 20 Wii) Why is it here? anyone know something about it?

    I just tried something: using trucha bug restorer: i've done a IOS reload on IOS3, wiimote won't sync but i was able to continue using a NGC pad, IOS15 downgrade fail, coz IOS3 seems not able to download from NUS, via ethernet adapter.

    If someone want a NAND dump (bootmii or fstoolbox) i can do this later (but tomorrow 6pm GMT+1 the wii will be back to the owner)

    The Wii is: a brand new white PAL wii, 3.4, boot1 fixed, didn't check the serial at this time
    Some time ago i've seen a IOS0 (really weird coz it's not even found on wiibrew), but i didnt have time for more investigation
     


  2. CasperH

    CasperH Newbie

    Pics or it didn't happen [​IMG]
     
  3. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    IOS0 is a super user ticket, created by some homebrew like Waninkoko's FS dumper.

    And... a functioning IOS3? What revision is it? (You can find out via Title Lister.)
     
  4. mattjd

    Member mattjd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Malvern
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have seen IOS252, 253 and 254 on my friends wii I was like wtf!!!! I just deleted them [​IMG]
     
  5. Daco

    Banned Daco Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    Belgium
    you are a retard... just like OP
     
  6. mattjd

    Member mattjd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Malvern
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks [​IMG]

    I wonder what they were...
     
  7. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    Didn't patchmii use IOS253?
     
  8. mattjd

    Member mattjd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Malvern
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nah patchmii used 254

    but there was definately 252 and 253 and 255 I think on his wii but i thought there not functional and there not in the official list so why keep them [​IMG]
     
  9. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Country:
    Sweden
    Never delete an IOS, unless they are stub
     
  10. Daco

    Banned Daco Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    473
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    Belgium
    ...and so does bootmii
     
  11. carbonyle
    OP

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    So it's the same as described here: http://wiibrew.org/wiki/IOS_History , end of the discussion.
     
  12. damysteryman

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It's a stub...

    Oh well... I was hoping it wasn't so I could have a copy. I still have an IOS4 v0.3.
     
  13. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    i had a wii once with all the 254,253,252,251 used. it was cause by a malfunctioning homebrew. i think it was xyzzy. the program installs a hacked IOS to the highest empty slot, dumps the wii's keys and then deletes the IOS it installed. but the app kept crashing before it got to the part where it deleted the IOS.
    so every time i ran it, i got another IOS used.

    but to the OP, you can check the TMD of the IOS3 to see for sure, but it seems like a stub to me. i think i remember wost of the stubs having 3 or less contents and they will all be tiny and probably shared.
     
  14. carbonyle
    OP

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Nothing important but I just tried to "BlueDump" this IOS3 (even if it's 99% sure a stub), but this is not working (in fact BlueDump seems not working for me)
    Code:
    cline :/title/00000001/00000003
    Backing up title to wAD ...
    Path for dump = sd:/BlueDump/WAD/00000001-00000003.wad
    Started WAD Packing...
    Packing Title 00000001-00000003
    fopen error
    I always get this "fopen" error, and if I check my SD card, there is no BlueDump floder in it, i assume BlueDump is not able to write on my sd (which is not protected)

    EDTI: using fakesigning version of bluedump. lastest version
     
  15. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Create the folder manually and try again.

    If it fails again, try Waninkoko's Wad Creator. Just note that if you use this, you'll need to run the wad through wwPacker to sign it.

    Decent apps really should create the folders when they don't exist, but some apps just fail when the folder is missing.
     
  16. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes, that's should be the problem.

    A little hint:
    Create not only the BlueDump folder, create boot folder! BlueDump and in this folder create the WAD folder and bluedump should work. [​IMG]
     
  17. carbonyle
    OP

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    ok thanks for the hint but now the wii is back to the owner... next time i'll try to pack it to wad
     
  18. bnm81002

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    sorry to hijack this thread but here is my IOS's from sysCheck, notice the IOS0 and NO IOS15, should I be worried about either IOS or not? also, do I need any other IOS installed as well?
    PS-I did try Dop-IOS MOD, TBR and NUSD but neither of the 3 worked to install IOS15
    thank you


    sysCheck v1.4 by Erik Spyder.

    Report generated on 2010/01/18.

    Region: NTSC-U.
    System Menu v289.
    Running under IOS36 (rev 3351).
    Found 321 titles.
    Found 29 IOS on this console.

    IOS (revision) Trucha Bug ES Identify Flash Access Boot2 Access USB 2.0 IOS Tree

    IOS0 (rev 3351) Enabled Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS4 (rev 3) Enabled Enabled Enabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS9 (rev 778) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS11 (rev 10) Enabled Enabled Enabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS12 (rev 269) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS13 (rev 273) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS14 (rev 520) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS17 (rev 775) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS20 (rev 12) Enabled Enabled Enabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS22 (rev 1037) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS28 (rev 1550) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS30 (rev 1040) Enabled Enabled Enabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS31 (rev 3349) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS33 (rev 3091) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS34 (rev 3348) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS35 (rev 3349) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS36 (rev 3351) Enabled Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS37 (rev 3869) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS38 (rev 3867) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS53 (rev 5406) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS55 (rev 5406) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS56 (rev 5405) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS57 (rev 5661) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS58 (rev 5918) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS61 (rev 5405) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS222 (rev 4) Enabled Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS223 (rev 4) Enabled Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS249 (rev 17) Disabled Enabled Disabled Disabled Enabled
    IOS250 (rev 65535) Disabled Enabled Disabled Disabled Enabled
     
  19. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Based on that, IOS15 and IOS21 are missing. Get them with DOP-IOS MOD. I'd install IOS60 and IOS70 as well, but that's just my opinion.

    IOS0 is nothing to worry about. It's a superuser ticket that came from some piece of brew you used (AnyTitle Deleter maybe?).
     
  20. bnm81002

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States


    I did try Dop-IOS MOD but it still didn't show as you can see, IOS70 is 4.2 SM no? I'm on 3.2U
     

Share This Page