Hardware Involving Pokemon GBA emulation on a PC and on an EZ 3 in 1

Calypzo

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Okay, so I have a problem. I hope I made that obvious. Anyway, here's some background;

I own a CycloDS Evolution and an EZ Flash 3 in 1. I am perfectly happy with these and they both work perfectly.

I recently started playing Pokemon Fire Red on my EZ 3 in 1, but seeing as I am lazy/a cheater/whatever else anyone would like to say I wanted to use cheats. Personally, I find it more fun with them.
I know that the EZ 3 in 1 does not support use of cheats. I also have vba which does support cheats. What I would like to do is open my save file from the EZ 3 in 1 with vba, apply the cheats I want and then return to playing on my DS for portability.

However, I have found no way of opening the .sav files my EZ 3 in 1 produces to load in vba. I've tried importing battery file, and it just acts like there's no save. I have tried somethign I heard about removing the first 16 bytes with a hex editor, also to no avail. I've found links to a save file converter, however it had no support for vba files.

Is there a blindingly obvious answer that is staring me in the face? Should I save/have saved using a different method? Is there some kind of transfer/conversion method I know not of? It's be lovely if someone knew and could point me in the right direction.

If there is no way to make this work, I am considering buying a GBA/Slot 2 flashcart. So then I'll just play GBA games with that. Could somebody recommend one to me? Bearing in mind that it needs Real Time Clock for Pokemon games. Ideally it would use MicroSD, as they are smaller and I can get hold of them easily.