Intro and need info

xone

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Hello to all..

I'm new to NDS and the whole gaming world.

Bought my daughter an NDS lite and a couple of games for xmas and while at a party with other kids who also had the lite consoles (there were about six other kids who had them, to my surprise, just then I realized how popular this game console was), one if her games (about hamsters) was lost or misplaced. We asked the other kids but no one had seen it.

Because of the size and portability of the cartridges I guess this could happen specially in a large gathering.

My search to protect against future unwanted incidents above led me to this site. Hoping you folks can help me:

Here is what I know so far from reading here and other sites: Correct me if my understanding is wrong.

1) To be able to run homebrew software I need to buy a passkey (goes into slot1) and a memory card adapter (goes into slot2), or update the firmware by running flashme and shorting the SL1 contacts.

Here is what I need to know:

1) Can I backup/copy game cartridges and use it the same way as homebrew software? If so, how? or please provide link.
2) If I need to buy the passkey and the card adapter to accomplish the above, which brand will be the most compatible and safest to use?

Thanks in advance for any help...
xone...

tama_mog

Kupo
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
1) you are correct if you are using a slot2 flashcard device (usually it's a device that fits into the gba slot 2 and has an interface to take flash media (SD, CF, and variants of SD...the exception is a g6/g6lite, they have fixed amount of onboard memory that's not expandable). Now there are slot1 cards that has passme included and among the top of those are the r4 and m3 simply (identical product, different badging). If you flashed your firmware as you've read, you will not need the passkey that goes in the slot1 anymore, since the DS will now boot straight into slot2 in NDS mode.