1. metaljay

    metaljay GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    452
    Country:
    What is this witchcraft????
    Have you found all new alt points on the other side of the board or something haha
     
    mattytrog likes this.
  2. pyorin

    pyorin Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    am I gonna have to undo my recent install for an even more low-key one :ninja:
     
    mattytrog likes this.
  3. mattytrog

    OP mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1) Use OpenOCD. There is a ready-to-go image in the OP with all bootloaders included.
    2) For the initial UF2, yes. Actual 2.0 CFW? No.
     
    ahamza61 likes this.
  4. metaljay

    metaljay GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    452
    Country:
    Come on give us a hint!
     
  5. mattytrog

    OP mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    20181001_204607.jpg
    A hint... OK.

    It`s all in the OP of this thread :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2018
    evilsperm, Adr990, mooglazer and 3 others like this.
  6. metaljay

    metaljay GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    452
    Country:
    God that’s some tiny soldering! Very neat as well mate!
     
    mattytrog likes this.
  7. mattytrog

    OP mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nah its not. Only did it quick on my scrap bench unit.

    Just programmed a load up with bootloaders and thought I`d fit one to the "nail" as I call it.
     
    ModderFokker619 likes this.
  8. mattytrog

    OP mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fixed code and harmonised it across all versions I provide. Corrected a couple of schtoopid mistakes that affect method 3 users.

    Source updated on Git.

    See OP or my Git :)
     
  9. IAmBeave

    IAmBeave Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My switchME just arrived. Was going to install it tomorrow evening. The thing is I was planning on using cable ripped from a cat 5 ethernet. Is this gauge too heavy?
     
  10. mattytrog

    OP mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No should be thin enough. The insulation melts like a bastard though.

    Won't look tidy unless you have a cooler iron...
     
  11. fadx

    fadx Filthy Cheater
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Messages:
    396
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it's 24AWG the 3V and the 6 wire install lines might be tricky but the ground and data points would be no problem but matty has said it'll be fine so I'd trust him :D
     
  12. IAmBeave

    IAmBeave Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks, I use a hakko fx-888d iron, was thinking 300° for the temp setting, and am definitely going to go with the 6 wire install.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2018
  13. mattytrog

    OP mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you are going for the 6 wire (aka method 2) then please solder to the actual button assembly rather than the PCB. Those 150R resistors are as weak as a kitten.

    Test it well before you put the cover back on. There has been problems with that method. Hopefully fixed in code now though. I haven`t got any 6 wire / method 2 installs at the minute to play with, so doing it blind.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2018
  14. IAmBeave

    IAmBeave Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmmmm, now you have me doubting the 6 wire method. Was only planning on that method due to the dual boot and no need for autorcm. I guess as you have no installs using this you see no real disadvantages to the 4 wire install? Will have to think on it now.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2018
  15. mattytrog

    OP mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, I have done it obviously.

    It just isn`t the method I prefer. The 4 wire one, as well as being the easiest, is good if you want to downgrade.

    At the end of the day, the other methods are for "ban mitigation" in one way or the other. Or it was. But now all are equal...

    But you will probably get banned anyway, now everyone is installing NSPs because TX is apparently the big bad bogeyman... :rolleyes:

    I must add that 4-wire has ZERO PROOF of being any more risky than any of the other methods.

    People say AutoRCM is dangerous... Load of bollocks
    People say it can put your switch into a permanent dead state... Load of bollocks
    People say autoRCM is a cheap, hacky tramp way of doing things... I say they are the idiots. And they talk bollocks.

    You get the picture.

    Whatever you decide, folk in this thread will support you :)
     
  16. IAmBeave

    IAmBeave Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For a bit of further information, the jig I bought off of eBay failed ( split down the middle ) on the reboot after I did the no fuse burn update to 5.10 and burnt my fuses anyway, after months of keeping my switch on a lower firmware. Which was very frustrating.

    So now I'm jig less and don't trust buying another one.

    I don't really give two hoots about being banned from the online service as I will probably never use it anyways.

    Although I suppose an exploit could still be found for 5.10 that allows more options in the future so that's a big plus point for being able to downgrade back to 5.10.

    I have nothing against TX, I installed one of their modchips in my original Xbox way back when, and it served its purpose well..... :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2018
  17. mattytrog

    OP mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Neither do I.

    I`m no gender-confused "piracy-is-bad" Anime loving Social-Justice-Warrior. I don`t give a monkeys what CFW people use. Use Rolf-Harris-CFW for all I care.

    I would just recommend you check thoroughly which method suits your needs best. For the easiest, to get you "out there", use method 1 - (4 wire).

    Less skill required, less time, less energy.

    If you do want to boot back into OFW, you can always disable autoRCM... People forget that.

    Good luck young man!
     
    210modz likes this.
  18. IAmBeave

    IAmBeave Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ahhh, to be young again :D

    The first computer I bought was a commodore Vic 20, might give you an idea of my age group :lol:

    Thanks for the advice. I will let you know how it goes.
     
  19. mattytrog

    OP mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ZX81 was mine! Never put your real age on forum sites! :)
     
  20. IAmBeave

    IAmBeave Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wanted a zx81 but could only afford a second hand Vic 20 lol
     
    mattytrog likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - ItsyBitsy, Internal, (Trinket