Internal HDD

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by WiiForgotten, Jun 1, 2009.

Jun 1, 2009

Internal HDD by WiiForgotten at 3:18 PM (1,354 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. WiiForgotten
    OP

    Newcomer WiiForgotten Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Canada
    This may be stupid but
    Cant I just get a Serial to USB adapter for a internal HDD and work that with the wii to play backups?
    Or is that not possible?
     
  2. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Say wut [​IMG]? I think you mean replace the DVD drive with a HDD? If that is what you want you would have to build a bit of hardware that interprets the Wii's signal changes it to something the HD "understands" and change the data the HD produces to that the Wii thinks it will be getting when a disc is inserted.

    If you mean to ask if you couldn't just get an IDE/sata --> USB convertor, then yes you can as essentially that is what all of those cases are.
     
  3. WiiForgotten
    OP

    Newcomer WiiForgotten Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Canada
    No I dont mean replacing it with the DVD HDD

    Like The internal HDD has no USB port, only a IDE/Sata port
    so to use that with the wii wouldnt a > Serial to USB converter work?

    As I dont want to buy a External HDD and have a spare Internal HDD
     
  4. ften

    Member ften GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    My house
    Country:
    Bangladesh
    Yes, basically thats what an external harddrive is, a SATA (or IDE) to USB adapter with a case.

    -FTen
     
  5. WiiForgotten
    OP

    Newcomer WiiForgotten Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Canada
    How much would the adapter cost?
     
  6. pembo

    Member pembo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depends on what quality of a cable/adapter you want

    The cables look something like...
    http://images.maplin.co.uk/full/a35fq.jpg

    or you could even buy a 3.5" enclosure to put the drive in an make it a USB disk. This are often cheaper than the cable above
    e.g. http://www.ebuyer.com/product/136250
     
  7. WiiForgotten
    OP

    Newcomer WiiForgotten Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Canada
    Hmm I think I could try the enclosure
     
  8. ThaKillerKlown

    Member ThaKillerKlown GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
  9. WiiForgotten
    OP

    Newcomer WiiForgotten Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Canada
    thats good but i dont think i need it attached with the wii
     
  10. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I have an enclosure very similar to that one that I bought off ebay (similar price too). It works just fine with a western digital 250GB SATA drive that I had spare.
     
  11. WiiForgotten
    OP

    Newcomer WiiForgotten Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Canada
    is it better to buy the enclosure or the adapter

    also i have a internal hdd
    how would i know what size the enclosure should be
     
  12. pembo

    Member pembo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    enclosures are better as it makes the drive look nice!

    If you're talking about an internal hard disk from a PC, then it should be 3.5". Laptop hard disks are 2.5"

    The trick is knowing whether the hard disk is SATA or IDE and buying the appropriate enclosure.
     
  13. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Some enclosures actually can connect to both SATA or IDE (obviously not at the same time though lol)
     
  14. WiiForgotten
    OP

    Newcomer WiiForgotten Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    Canada
    I really dont mind about the looks
    and it is SATA
     

Share This Page