1. Prime

    OP Prime GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    I have ran into a problem.

    I have a 30GB partition for Ubuntu but when i select it in Step 4 of 7 when installing ubuntu this pops up:

    [​IMG]

    How do i proceed?
     
  2. juggernaut911

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,165
    Country:
    United States
    unrecognized file system? try to format it in windows or something
     
  3. Prime

    OP Prime GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    I did that when i first created the partition
     
  4. flashermac

    flashermac GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    If the filesystem on your partition is NTFS, you might have difficulties.

    Create the partition with the ubuntu installer, rather than windows, and you should be ok.

    DISCLAIMER: regardless of my advice, you are responsible for anything you do to your own stuff [​IMG]
     
  5. Prime

    OP Prime GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    Okay, I'll try that later. I'm quite busy right now.
     
  6. CockroachMan

    CockroachMan Scribbling around GBATemp's kitchen.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    3,889
    Country:
    Brazil
    On the partitioning menu, create a partition with a mount point on /

    Simple like that..
     
  7. Mazor

    Mazor Z80 master arch
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Country:
    Where does it say this? It is saying that no root file system is defined which means that it doesn't know where the fuck root is because it wasn't defined. I've never installed Ubuntu but generally when you install a distro you have to specify which partition you want to be the root partition.

    Try the install again and this time mount the partition as / (root). Also if you aren't sure of which filesystem to choose then just choose ext3.
     
  8. Prime

    OP Prime GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    Thanks both of yous.

    I'll go try it right now.
     
  9. Prime

    OP Prime GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    I don't get/see the option to make a mount point on /
     
  10. Mazor

    Mazor Z80 master arch
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Country:
    "No root filesystem is defined.

    Please correct this from the partitioning menu
    "

    The error message would suggest that you should find it in the partitioning menu.
     
  11. Prime

    OP Prime GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    Where in the menu?!
     
  12. juggernaut911

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,165
    Country:
    United States
    it should say like, whole harddrive, resize disk, etc...

    at the bottom it should say manual. click it, it'll reload and show you your harddrives, find your 30GB one and delete all partitions on it, then, make a partition equal to the amount of RAM you have and under the partition types, select SWAP. than, with the reaminder space, make that all ext3 mounted at "/" and I think you flag as bootable if there is the option.

    PS: the swap size is up to you but it is basically backup RAM.
     
  13. laminaatplaat

    laminaatplaat GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    are you using the live CD or that other special version?
     
  14. Boktai1000

    Boktai1000 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Was the partition made from the install on the livecd or did you use a third party program to make a 30gig partition from something in windows or a different boot cd? Because when you install ubuntu you have the option to chose how much space to give to Ubuntu or XP/Vista etc.
     
  15. matriculated

    matriculated GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    Canada
    ++

    I don't know what the Ubuntu team was thinking when they made the installer - how in the world are people supposed to know that without going out on another computer and researching. Once you're past that hurdle everything is fine and dandy... unless you have an unsupported wifi card.

    IIRC, avoid resizing from the installer - it takes forever to do it that way.
     
  16. Jiggah

    Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like he is trying to install Wubi. The issue comes up, if for example, you have your main Windows OS not as the first actual drive the BIOS sees.

    My work around for it was to just use the Vista partitioner to resize my drive and then install Ubuntu on the actual drive and used EasyBCD to setup the Ubuntu partition on the MBR.
     
  17. juggernaut911

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,165
    Country:
    United States
    or you could just tell your BIOS to not detect the other harddrives
     
  18. Jiggah

    Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    That doesn't work. Wubi detects the drives differently from how Windows. You have to modify the config file that's created, but that was too much work for me. So, I just resized my drive and run it on a native partition.
     
  19. juggernaut911

    juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,165
    Country:
    United States
    unplug other harddrives
     
  20. Prime

    OP Prime GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Country:
    Nope not using Wubi.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Installing, Ubuntu,