Installing Netflix Channel on European Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Nifta, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. Nifta
    OP

    Nifta Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Dec 18, 2009
    I live in Canada, but have a European Wii (running 4.2E, with softmod)

    I've got a Netflix subscription, but would prefer to use that through my Wii. What are the options for accessing Netflix on my European Wii? I'd prefer to not install an American version of the System Menu if possible.

    Thanks
    John
     
  2. Krestent

    Krestent What to post?

    Member
    3,953
    33
    Mar 31, 2009
    United States
    Find a wad of the channel and install it using WAD Manager? Or find that ISO of the old Netflix disc floating around and use that.
     
  3. brausm08

    brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    721
    17
    Nov 15, 2009
    United States
    USA - Midwest
    i've not tried it myself, but i think the disc (or disc iso) is obsolete now that the channel is available....launching the disc just tells you to download the channel....
     
  4. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    7,080
    8,874
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    Get the wad, pm me if you can't find it [​IMG]
     
  5. Nifta
    OP

    Nifta Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Dec 18, 2009
    Thanks for the responses! [​IMG] Can I install a US channel on a European Wii without problems? If so, I'll take a look about for a WAD. Thanks!
     
  6. FIX94

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Global Moderator
    7,080
    8,874
    Dec 3, 2009
    Germany
    ???
    Yes, simply make it region free before or use the priiloader region free hack.
     
  7. steve007

    steve007 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    429
    15
    Oct 7, 2007
    United States
    Nottingham
    Where do I get the wad I called Netflix they no longer have the wii dvd verson. I am useing 4.2u
    Moded and get this I was playing Pokemon wii poke park it was bad colors red and white lines but worked though on the usb loader is there a color one out there so i can injoy the game ? Thats 2 questions if you can answer them I thank you.

    PS: please PM me the answers I be hear to as well

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Krestent

    Krestent What to post?

    Member
    3,953
    33
    Mar 31, 2009
    United States
    Google is your friend. By searching for a download of the Netflix channel I found both a wad and an ISO.
     
  9. flo

    flo GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    247
    3
    Nov 2, 2006
    Hungary
    If i'm located in Europe they'll detect my IP and there's no way i can use it ..right ?
     
  10. Blue-K

    Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Member
    2,572
    1
    Jun 21, 2008
    Swaziland
    Helvetica
    Afaik, you can't even create a Netflix-Account, which is needed.
     
  11. swiit

    swiit Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Jan 11, 2011
    Italy
    I have a European WII, 4.3E with HBC, and would like to install Netflix.

    I see there might be different ways to install Netflix:
    1) using wad
    2) by loading the Netflix streaming DVD onto a USB stick
    3) through the U.S. Wii shop channel

    In trying #1, the wad does put the Netflix channel on the Wii menu, but launching it results in a black screen with a bunch of numbers, then the word "reload" and then the Wii freezes.

    I've heard that #2 does not work anymore, though I do have the NTSC DVD they sent me a while back.

    My attempt at #3 - download of the channel - has met with no success (is this a 4.3E issue?) as my Wii Shop channel remains European. I thought of changing the region of my Wii so that I could access the Netflix channel through the U.S. shop, but would that also prevent me from playing European game discs?

    Thanks for the feedback - I'm quite new at this.
     
  12. Nifta
    OP

    Nifta Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Dec 18, 2009
    Hey Swiit,

    I've not tried any methods yet (we're about to have a baby, so rather busy at the moment!). It looks like installing the wad won't work then without reflashing the wii to be a north american System Menu.

    I guess I may as well switch my Wii's region. I'll lose iPlayer channel, but that does IP checks so it's useless to me over here anyway [​IMG]

    Swiit, you can still load other region games by using Gecko (you can install that if you have HBC installed). At this stage about half of my games are European and half are North American anyway, so I have to use Gecko a lot anyway!


    Does anyone know if I'll lose my Nintendo Shop Channel points if I reflash my Wii to a North American System Menu?
     
  13. Donkey Plonk

    Donkey Plonk GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    421
    1
    Jan 3, 2011
    If you're pirating, why do your shop channel points matter? Can't you just buy wiiware/vc on there (which you can just download)?
     
  14. Krestent

    Krestent What to post?

    Member
    3,953
    33
    Mar 31, 2009
    United States
    System menu doesn't matter. It won't make a difference. Does the disc work?