Installing "Compiz-Fusion" on Ubuntu 7.10

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Elisa_, Apr 6, 2008.

Apr 6, 2008
  1. Elisa_
    OP

    Member Elisa_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Australia
    Well, my computer has recently been upgraded and got Linux (Ubuntu) on my computer. My friends said there was a cool desktop thing that makes your desktop turn into a cube etc.. Anyone have a guide for Ubuntu 7.10?
     
  2. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Just use the little download manager thing to get it. I think 7.10 actually comes with Compiz-Fusion, but is missing the actual control panel.
     
  3. Elisa_
    OP

    Member Elisa_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Australia
    What download manager? [​IMG]
     
  4. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Ugh...edit button isn't working on lite skin. Synaptic! That's what it's called.
     
  5. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Got to System/Administration/Software sources and enable all repositories and updates

    then, in terminal type

    sudo apt-get install compizconfig-settings-manager
     
  6. Elisa_
    OP

    Member Elisa_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Australia
    For some reason it said: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run dpkg --configure -a to correct the problem. Then if I type that, it says dpkg: requested operation requires superuser privilege.
     
  7. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    if it says use superuser, type sudo at the start of your commands

    eg
    sudo dpkg --configure -a

    that may take some time though
     
  8. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Put a sudo before it. You will be prompted for a password then

    sudo dpkg --configure -a

    rhyguy beat me

    You can make a whole session be root by typing in su. Then you put in the root password and you don't have to bother with sudo
     
  9. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    since your a linux noob (no offence) beware of people in guides saying to type sudo rm -rf cause that deletes stuff

    List of avoidable Commands
     
  10. TLSpartan

    Member TLSpartan Kills threads

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    2,053
    Country:
    Australia
    Which deletes the root filesytem, along with anything attached to it. rm -rf is good, but can be extremely dangerous to use
     
  11. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Code:
    :(){ :|:& };:
    [​IMG]
     
  12. Elisa_
    OP

    Member Elisa_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Australia
    Hm, I downloaded the compiz-config thing, but each time I go to System > Preferences > Compiz Config Manager, it doesn't come up. xD
     
  13. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
  14. Elisa_
    OP

    Member Elisa_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Australia
    Hmm, it tells me to go System > Preferences and enable advanced desktop features, but it isn't there.
     
  15. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why are you using a computer again?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    If that doesn't work, your computer doesn't have a graphics card.
     
  16. Elisa_
    OP

    Member Elisa_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Australia
    This is the reason i'm newbie at this. This comp isn't mine. It's my boyfriends, he gave it to me as a birthday present xD But like, I'm not that computerized =]. I might install XP but I have lots of stuff on my comp =]
     
  17. Westside

    Member Westside Sogdiana

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,905
    Location:
    Guantanamo bay
    Country:
    Uzbekistan
    Lol, do you know that without a graphics card a computer is basically a radio. I think you mean a non-3d supporting or non directX and opengl supporting graphics card.

    Is your video card even installed? Find out what it is and download the latest drivers for Linux. Also, use synaptic for easy installation on Ubuntu.
     
  18. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I did mean that, but why complicate things for the newbie any more?
     
  19. Hitto

    Member Hitto MKDS Tournament Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,450
    Location:
    Nice, France
    Country:
    France
    More importantly, what's wrong with asking your boyfriend? I mean, HE set it up, didn't he?
     

Share This Page