Installing cIOS's on my 4.0U

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by bnwchbammer, Jun 14, 2009.

Jun 14, 2009
  1. bnwchbammer
    OP

    Member bnwchbammer GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    462
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so I'm trying to get the new USB Launcher GX to work. I don't have cIOS36 or cIOS222. I also don't have Wi-Fi, and I have updated to System menu 4.0 using Waninkoko's updater. I've got an installer and a WAD for the most recent cIOS38rev13a When it asks what IOS I want to change I picked IOS60, got an error. Figured I'd try the System Menu 3.2 IOS36, it seemed to work, but when I load up the USB Launcher it doesn't work. I get a message saying to pick which cIOS I want to use. How do I get it to work, or should I downgrade to 3.2 and try again? Or do I need to install IOS60 since Waninkoko's updater might not have updated that? Iunno. Any help?
     
  2. computerboy

    Member computerboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    Switzerland
    NEVER try to overwrite a System Menu IOS if you don't know what your doing. You are meant to install cIOS as IOS 249 to be able to read backups
     
  3. natemckn

    Member natemckn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    New York (State, not City)
    Country:
    United States
    This man speaks truth. cIOS is meant to go to IOS249 which is unused by the system. The cIOS itself is based on IOS36, but is not meant to replace it
     
  4. bnwchbammer
    OP

    Member bnwchbammer GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    462
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, right. So I'm using the waninkoko cIOS installer to install IOS249, but it asks what IOS to use. I put 60, got an error, put 36 said successful instalation, but USB loader GX still doesn't work.
     
  5. menage730

    Member menage730 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    install rev 13a as 249 & if it ask you what cios click 249 unplug power from hd & replug it thats how i got it to work
     
  6. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    If IOS249 doesn't show up then you don't have any cIOS installed from beforehand. cIOS should have been installed before you updated with waninkoko's updater to make it easier, but it can still be done from 4.0. Find the ultimate system menu 4.0 guide here and follow the offline portion of that guide up to step 10 and you should then be able to run usb loaders.
     
  7. bnwchbammer
    OP

    Member bnwchbammer GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    462
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    thanks a lot nabster, I'll give it a shot.
     
  8. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    what you need is Bootmii installed as BOOT2 and cBoot2 by Wiigator
    with this combo, you should be able to install a CIOS, even on a virgin 4.0 wii, no need for downgrade

    here's my "ultimate guide" lol:

    1/ install BootMii as BOOT2 (installs HBC and DVDX as well, it doesn't hurt). Backup the bootmii directory that just has been created on your SD.

    2/ Download cBOOT2 . Be sure to carefully read the README to know what files you need to get first (from NUS) and how to setup your SDCARD.

    3/ Put the CIOS wad on the SDCARD as you usually do so it can be installed by WAD Manager

    4/ Run cBoot2 Installer from Homebrew Channel

    5/ Restart your Wii, WAD Manager should automatically show up.

    6/ Install CIOS wad.
     
  9. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    LU64's can't have BootMii installed to boot2. But cboot2 works just fine off of BootMii/IOS since cboot2 is an armboot.bin file and not something that's written to your Wii.
     
  10. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    Yeah, for Wii that have the new Boot1 and cannot install BootMii in Boot2, just install it as IOS and replace step 5 by "5/ Go to HBC, press HOME and pick the option to launch BootMii"
     
  11. Raj

    Newcomer Raj Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm trying this same method, installing cIOS without downgrading anything. Have previously updated to System Menu 4 officially, got Bootmii installed with HBC and DVDx and I want to install cIOS 38 rev 12 and USB loader.

    So I got cboot2 to work correctly, and the custom version of Wad Manager 1.4 loads and says installation of the cIOS wad is ok. However Waninkoko's usb loader 1.5 still says unable to find cIOS.

    I tried uninstalling cIOS via the cboot2 method and it said uninstallation was ok, however something strange is happening. I am able to install the cIOS wad via the wad manager though hbc, not cboot2, although I can't uninstall it. Is this normal? Anything else I can try to check if the cboot2 method is actually installing it properly?
     
  12. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have an LU64+ Wii or something or are you just afraid to downgrade anything on your Wii regardless?

    Generally I would say don't try dealing with uninstalling things ESPECIALLY IOS's although deleting cIOS's shouldn't cause any problems. You should always be able to install over things. Running any cIOS installer of any revision will install that one over any existing one.

    Anyways if the wad installation was successful then I would just try running a normal cIOS installer app after that. Is there any reason you only want to do this via a wad anyways?
     
  13. Rajveer

    Newcomer Rajveer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope I've got a release date Wii with a vulnerable boot2 which is where I've installed bootmii, but I just don't like the idea of downgrading. Although I've make a nand backup just in case.

    I did try the cIOS rev 12 installer after wad manager said that installation of the wad was successful, but the installer gave me a -2011 error.

    I'm trying to use wads because I want to use the cboot2 method rather than downgrading, and cboot2 includes the modified wad manager that should allow me to install it properly. On another note, the cboot2 method is allowing me to install wads which I normally wouldn't be able to; I was also trying to install the USB Loader GX Forwarder, and was only able to install and uninstall it via the cboot2 wad manager and not via the hbc one.
     
  14. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Well if you have a NAND backup with boot2 bootmii you have absolutely nothing to lose trying to do it other ways. You don't even need to fully downgrade your whole system to get stuff working. You just need to downgrade IOS35 to install cios_fix.wad or another cIOS wad. Then you should be able to run a cIOS installer. Running IOS downgrader or cIOS downgrader after that is optional.
     
  15. Rajveer

    Newcomer Rajveer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah I guess you're right, but it's downgrading IOS35 that I'm unsure of. Just to make sure, what exactly does downgrading IOS35 mean? Won't it affect any software that currently uses IOS35? Also, why do I need to run cIOS installer after I've installed cios_fix.wad, just to update it to the latest one?
     

Share This Page