1. rufuszombot

    OP rufuszombot Assassin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    553
    Country:
    United States
    my internet is out at my home, and I'm curious if the sign in for the wifi will affect the portions of the downgrade or A9LH instillation where the 3DS itself has to connect to the Internet.
     
  2. xtheman

    xtheman GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5,837
    Country:
    United States
    You only need internet while on 2.1.
     
  3. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Sakura思い
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,032
    Country:
    Japan
    Oh my. Why would you go to starbucks to update at your starbucks.
     
    MsMidnight likes this.
  4. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    If you have to visit a webpage to connect then it won't work on the 3DS.
     
  5. munchy_cool

    munchy_cool GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    .. Setup your phone as a hotspot...

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
     
  6. Mikemk

    Mikemk GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,004
    Country:
    United States
    Use Mcdonald's, they disable the sign in page for Nintendo devices.
     
    Quantumcat likes this.
  7. Tumbtack

    Tumbtack Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Not really, I've been in that situation. I use a laptop to spoof the MAC address of the DS so I can sign in to their wifi from the DSes mac address, than disconnect the laptop, and connect the DS, and all is well.
     
    Quantumcat likes this.
  8. Sumea

    Sumea Disco Ninja Frog
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,560
    Country:
    Finland
    I done some ninja ass out-of-my-house hax where I used my own cellphone as wifi AP on the go for some lewd action. Just grab a random laptop whip that SD action do things etc.
     
  9. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    You should write a tutorial aimed at dummies and post it on the tutorial section. I didn't really follow what you said but would like to be able to do this.
     
    MajinCubyan likes this.
  10. munchy_cool

    munchy_cool GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Like mobile phones have IMEI as the unique identification number worldwide, wifi only devices have a MAC address (a smartphone connecting to the Wifi will have a Mac address as well).

    What he did was

    1. Grab the Mac Address on his DS
    2. Set the Mac Address on his Mac to the one on DS
    3. Connect to Starbucks Wifi using his Mac
    4. Disconnect the Mac from Wifi, and turn wifi of DS on
    5. Starbucks thinks device is Mac, whereas its a DS

    Thats the theory behind it.
     
    Quantumcat likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Installing, Starbucks,