Installing a wiikey on a D2B/Drive pins cut board

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by windwake, Sep 27, 2007.

  1. windwake
    OP

    Newcomer windwake Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    According to the wiitracker, I have a D2B chip, with cut drive pins. Evidently this means that the Wiikey installation process will be different or significantly harder?

    Are there any instructions anywhere on installing the Wiikey in this scenario, or am I better just waiting for another solution to Wii modding?
     
  2. xbandaidx

    Member xbandaidx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United States
    SIGNIFICANTLY harder. Definitely harder. You need to be damn handy with the solder gun
     
  3. windwake
    OP

    Newcomer windwake Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    I've been soldering for years but I've never used a dremel. However, I don't know what the process is like and if it is at my skill level or not. So I just wanted to know how it was different (or if anyone has done it before on this board and has pics).
     
  4. PaulieD

    Newcomer PaulieD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    I have a D2B chip and I wasn't 100% on doing it so I payed someone. Honestly if your not sure pay someone else [​IMG]
    If you have money to buy another try it yourself but make sure you can get your hands on another D2B not D2C...
     
  5. windwake
    OP

    Newcomer windwake Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    Someone told me that they read somewhere that some groups were working on a D2B and D2C solution. Has anyone else read this?
     
  6. chronjohnson

    Newcomer chronjohnson Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Yeah everyone on these boards tried to convince me it was impossible too, that I should pay some person to do it. Have you met people? They're awful. Look at the people you meet, I'm going to pay some random one...from the internet...to mess with my console? Hell no man. Modded a slimline PS2 for practice. If you can mod that bitch the Wii will be easy. You can scrape to those traces with some razor blades, be persistant. No problems, just like soldering to legs.
     
  7. Redsquirrel

    Member Redsquirrel GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    615
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ive modded 20+ Wiis. However I attempted a cut legs and gave up. I managed to shave the chip down enough to reveal the tracks. But they are TINY compared with the points on the wii. I gave up after 5 hours, i didnt want to mess the wii up.
     
  8. windwake
    OP

    Newcomer windwake Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    Does D2C have cut legs too?
     
  9. aardvarks

    Member aardvarks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  10. chronjohnson

    Newcomer chronjohnson Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Gave up? That's the talk of a man who already had 20 modded Wiis and thus no motivation. The points are no smaller than IC legs.
     
  11. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
    Just practise on something first.. a 'mock' install on a similar chip will let you know if you can do it,.. just break 3 legs off. I'm sure your work out a method.
     
  12. delta123

    Member delta123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Hyougo, Japan
    Country:
    Australia
  13. SPiko

    Newcomer SPiko Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
  14. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    One that is huge, and two putting all those wires without messing up would take AT LEAST 6 hours for a beginner
     
  15. chronjohnson

    Newcomer chronjohnson Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    Gotta ask yourselves, how badly do you want to play cooking simulators and mini games. Oh yeah, that badly.
     
  16. PaulieD

    Newcomer PaulieD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Brisbane, Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    you have no idea look at all your posts [​IMG]
     

Share This Page