Installing a new modchip

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by Upperleft, Apr 7, 2008.

Apr 7, 2008

Installing a new modchip by Upperleft at 12:39 PM (904 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Upperleft
    OP

    Member Upperleft Namcoholic

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,049
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    so, i removed my old modchip in order to play SSBB
    and now i want to install a new one
    i found a D2CKEY at a near store ( yes, they sell this kind of things xD )
    is it a good choice ? and does it play an Original SSBB ?
    if not , can you recommend a chip that do ?
     
  2. Upperleft
    OP

    Member Upperleft Namcoholic

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,049
    Country:
    United Arab Emirates
    hello..?
    anyone?
     
  3. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a friend who's a pro modder, and he reckons that is a good chip for newer model Wii.
     
  4. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think D2CKey can play retail SSBB.

    Also I don't think you have a D2C drive because you said you had an old chip. Old chips don't work on D2C drives.
     
  5. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it is older, then get a YAOSM.
     
  6. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    D2ckey plays SSBB both original and backup, but its hard to install (31 wires)

    better get the Wasabi, it's only 9 wires [​IMG]
     
  7. UchihaItachi

    Newcomer UchihaItachi Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I have installed an openwii and since then i have no problems in any game.
     

Share This Page