installed mario kart nsp while cartridge was in switch

Discussion in 'Switch - Backup Loaders & Modchips' started by bross001, Oct 15, 2018.

  1. bross001
    OP

    bross001 Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    Oct 15, 2018
    United States
    like title says i installed the nsp while the cartridge was in my switch and booted it up to make sure it was working and had no problems. have since gotten rid of the cartridge (like hours ago) and the game no longer boots. it shows that the cartridge is still inserted (filled in icon)
    i tried to to delete the software but its asking me to remove the cartridge first.
    i currently have no cartridges to insert to see if that fixes it.

    has anyone else ran into this problem and found a way to fix??

    edit:
    extra infos 6.01 using reinx and tinfoil
     
    Last edited by bross001, Oct 15, 2018
  2. hippy dave

    hippy dave BBMB

    Member
    13
    Apr 30, 2012
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried rebooting?
     
  3. bross001
    OP

    bross001 Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    Oct 15, 2018
    United States
    yes i tried rebooting back into stock and back into reinx and still no luck
     
  4. DocAmes1980

    DocAmes1980 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    6
    Oct 31, 2016
    United States
    Restore a backup, reinitialize the console, or buy the card back from GameStop.
     
  5. bross001
    OP

    bross001 Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    Oct 15, 2018
    United States
    im 100% sure the backup i made had the cartridge installed would this be a problem?
    what does reinitializing do?
    and yeah dont feel like losing 25+bucks buying it back and then returning it again lol
     
  6. DocAmes1980

    DocAmes1980 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    6
    Oct 31, 2016
    United States
    I doubt it. This time around just delete the software first.
    It factory resets the console. It might solve your problem. But I believe some stuff survives a reset.

    Somebody who knows about ticket blobs and certs and shit will come along and answer your question better. I mostly just wanted to use the GameStop crack.
     
    Albytrozz likes this.
  7. bross001
    OP

    bross001 Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    Oct 15, 2018
    United States
    lol yeah they suck gave me jack for all the stuff i traded but i got a joycon out of it so i can play 4 player super mario party so its alright

    i guess ill be restoring and reinstalling games for the rest of the night thanks for your help!
     
  8. DocAmes1980

    DocAmes1980 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    6
    Oct 31, 2016
    United States
    I wouldn't do anything too drastic yet. Restoring the backup will probably work. Then you wouldn't have to reinstall all the game. Or you could probably use Tinfoil, Hekate, or DevMenu (if you can run it on your FW version) to fix it. I don't know enough to say for sure.
     
  9. bross001
    OP

    bross001 Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    Oct 15, 2018
    United States
    im in the same boat as you. used tinfoil to install but other than using the system menu dont know how to uninstall
     
  10. raphamotta

    raphamotta GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    6
    Jul 12, 2013
    Use ChoidujourNX and downgrade to FW 5. Then use Devmenu to delete the game.
     
  11. bross001
    OP

    bross001 Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    Oct 15, 2018
    United States
    i have burnt fuses is this still possible?
     
  12. DocAmes1980

    DocAmes1980 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    6
    Oct 31, 2016
    United States
    What is your current FW version?

    What FW version is your backup?
     
  13. bross001
    OP

    bross001 Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    Oct 15, 2018
    United States
    i know i was on 4.01 but i think i updated and then did the backup once i was on 6.01 i know stupid...
    buttt i just used the archive the software option and the icon went to an outline then i was able to delete the software!

    i will try reinstalling ina bit and let you guys know how it goes
     
  14. DocAmes1980

    DocAmes1980 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    6
    Oct 31, 2016
    United States
    Cool.
     
  15. jag272

    jag272 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jan 15, 2014
    I realise this is a month old thread, but I just did the same thing with BOTW by accident on 6.1 and found a solution. Tried searching around for newer threads but didn't find one so hopefully it's still of use to people.

    I installed BOTW via tinfoil while i had the cart inserted. Had the same issue of the switch thinking the cart was still inserted etc. However I discovered if you tell the switch to archive the game first, it will then let you delete it afterwards. I guess for whatever reason it will let you archive it, which deletes the data, and yet not just outright delete it?

    No idea what the theory behind it is, but I've just now reinstalled the NSP again through tinfoil and the game appears to be working fine, kept my saves too. I have a feeling reinserting the cart might break it again, might give that a go tomorrow for science as I don't much fancy having to reinstall the game again right now.
     
    bross001 likes this.
Loading...