installed channels keep rebooting wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by redrumbrg, Jun 25, 2008.

Jun 25, 2008
  1. redrumbrg
    OP

    Newcomer redrumbrg Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Aruba
    i just installed the homebrew channel and others,using the twilight hack, the channels are in the wii menu but when you use them they reboot the wii . i have searched for an answer but with no luck. any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    You dont have the 3.3 firmware by any chance?
     
  3. redrumbrg
    OP

    Newcomer redrumbrg Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Aruba
    no firmware 3.0
     
  4. redrumbrg
    OP

    Newcomer redrumbrg Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Aruba
    even vc channels install but just reboot the system
     
  5. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Delete the Homebrew Channel, update to the latest Wii Software, and then try installing the Homebrew Channel again (with the new beta 1 Twilight Hack).
     
  6. redrumbrg
    OP

    Newcomer redrumbrg Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Aruba
    i don't have internet access for the wii can't update via internet and firmware is 3.0U
     
  7. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    I've heard of WiiWare games restarting the system with 3.0 software, but not VC games. How did you install the VC games/Homebrew Channel? Both with the Twilight Hack?
     
  8. redrumbrg
    OP

    Newcomer redrumbrg Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Aruba
    yes i used the tp hack to install the channels. i also tried to install the wad installer channel via tp hack but can't use the wad installer channel after installation just like all my other channels . the channels load on the wii menu and i can click start but then they reboot the wii back to the start menu.
     
  9. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    i heard that custom channels fail below v3.1. but vc games should work once you have v2.0 (the first update at launch)
     
  10. redrumbrg
    OP

    Newcomer redrumbrg Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Aruba
    ok now these vc channels are wad files off the net would they still work on firmware 3.0U or just on 3.1u or later
     
  11. ProdigySim

    Member ProdigySim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    It's entirely possible that you're missing IOS files for these channels.

    I'd try to download some IOS wads somewhere and install them, or get a game that has a bunch of them (Like Brawl)

    You don't need a new System Menu (3.1, 3.2, etc.) but you will need the IOS files. (IOS30, IOS35). Of course, I don't know which ones you'd need necessarily. You could try running the SD Title Lister (No link sorry) to find out what IOS version you have on your Wii... Then post the results here.
     
  12. RyuKakashi

    Member RyuKakashi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United States
  13. redrumbrg
    OP

    Newcomer redrumbrg Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Country:
    Aruba
    the firmware was the problem . so it seems that vc channels from wads and custom channels will only work on 3.1 or higher. i used the update from mario kart wii in order to fix the problem . thanks for all your help
     

Share This Page