Inspection of 3DS Motherboard Image

Discussion in 'User Submitted News' started by DeltaBurnt, May 19, 2010.

May 19, 2010
  1. DeltaBurnt
    OP

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    SD slot pretty much confirmed, joystick maybe confirmed, etc.

    This is all just analysis of a low quality test build motherboard image, so nothing is final obviously.

    Source
     


  2. zeromac

    Member zeromac Finally reached 1000 posts EXACTLY

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,194
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    Australia
    I still find that really really weird looking and retarded..

    Why is the motherboard like way way bigger than the 2 screens when the buttons are quite tiny? Or is this like all/most of the features of the 3DS except it's not in the right shape? I'm confused [​IMG]
     
  3. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    already posted by granville in the original topic
    this really doesn't need a new topic...
     
  4. monkat

    Banned monkat I'd like to see you TRY to ban me. (Should I try?.

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268
    Location:
    Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    More or less this. It might be the right shape and size...but that's beyond unlikely.
     
  5. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Yes.
     
  6. TM2-Megatron

    Member TM2-Megatron Predacon Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    More likely it's just some kind of debug/prototype hardware. It has all the same features that the true 3DS unit does (though maybe with a few extra connections for monitoring equipment for when games are being run), but just in a haphazard package.
     
  7. GH0ST

    Member GH0ST Your Hero is a Ghost

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    924
    Location:
    I was here... before...
    Country:
    France
    It is a dev kit

    Don't expect to much from passive 3D.
     
  8. T3GZdev

    Member T3GZdev head of T3GZdev

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    from wha ti see there testin g anew wifi chip for later DSi's & the new 3DS commign in the future & they have a DSi screen & a 3DS screen, & buttons, & speaker for input. the 3DS is gonna have 2 wide screens, not sure if both are touch tho. there appears to be a white button & som emore butons & switches in other places on the board. [​IMG]
     
  9. yuyuyup

    Member yuyuyup GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,300
    Location:
    USA MTN timezone
    Country:
    United States
    just a theory, maybe that "widescreen" isn't even a screen at all, it could just as well be a battery and the 2nd screen isn't even featured in the photograph
     
  10. BlackDave

    Member BlackDave Official GBATemp "Cleanup Guy"

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    The Promised Land...
    Country:
    United States
    Like the source says, it's a developer's board. So looks and designs have no meaning at this point [​IMG]
     
  11. Saddamsdevil

    Member Saddamsdevil GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A reflective battery with a ribbon connector (which lcd's use) rather than a +/- wire right?

    Also, no reason to test the prototype with battery power yet. If they can run it at a voltage then a battery of the same voltage will work too.
     
  12. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    In fact, #8 seems more of a DC connector to me, than a headphone jack (like the site suggests).
     
  13. Saddamsdevil

    Member Saddamsdevil GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I agree. Nice and close to the BIOS battery and the power button (black nub bext to the battery) [​IMG]
     
  14. yuyuyup

    Member yuyuyup GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,300
    Location:
    USA MTN timezone
    Country:
    United States
    how do you know it's reflective ? Looks solid black to me, especially compared to the small screen which IS reflective.
     
  15. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its a screen, you can see vague reflections in the screen (not clear but they're there) that a battery is unlikely to have (unless made of cheap, shiny plastic). Also, why would they bother putting a battery on the test-board? Its almost certainly designed to run off the mains, and if it is a battery then where's the 2nd screen which gives us the 3D effect?
     
  16. Saddamsdevil

    Member Saddamsdevil GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know because;
    [​IMG]
    This is the hand with the camera that took the picture.

    Also, I suspect the YELLOW thing on the side to be the 3,5 mm audio jack.
     
  17. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    Look closer and you will see the rest of the camera reflected in the top screen. Also, it has a ribbon connector, that's all the proof needed to show it's an LCD.
     
  18. Saddamsdevil

    Member Saddamsdevil GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Exactly what I pointed out [​IMG]
     
  19. Knyaz Vladimir

    Member Knyaz Vladimir 3DS Hacker

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Unconfirmed
    Country:
    Canada
    6 is too deep in to be a SD slot. And it seems more likely to be a microSD card in there.

    Also, one 3D screen? One widescreen? Nintendo, this better be a PROTOTYPE.

    EDIT: Mistook 6 with 7.
     
  20. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    Looks like there is a lot of empty space on that board, so resizing is definite.

    I would still like to see another analog stick and at least one more button. At least then, Gamecube emulation (if even possible) wouldn't have to be a button mapping nightmare.
     

Share This Page