Hacking Injecting majora's mask save into retail cart

Tikkito

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2014
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Orlando, Florida
XP
86
Country
United States
ive looked so much and can't find an answer to this question. I've been playing majora's mask rom file on gateway on a 4.5 sysnand 9.2 emunand 3ds xl. I'd like to inject the save file into a retail cart so I can play it on my non gateway N3dsxl which is on 9.4 sysnand. Is this remotely possible? The rom file was not obtained from the retail cart in question
 

Oishikatta

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
971
Trophies
0
XP
593
Country
United States
You need access to a N3DS/XL on firmware 8.1~9.2.

Export your save with savedatafiler.
Import the save to the retail cart using NTR 2.1, NTR Save Plugin.
 

Tikkito

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2014
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Orlando, Florida
XP
86
Country
United States
Appreciate the response but have some questions

1. Why do I need to use datasavefiler? The save is just a regular gateway save. Sorry I'm not smart with this stuff

2. Why must the new 3dsxl be between 8.1 and 9.2?
 

Loaffy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
158
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
201
Country
Canada
You need access to a N3DS/XL on firmware 8.1~9.2.

Export your save with savedatafiler.
Import the save to the retail cart using NTR 2.1, NTR Save Plugin.

Assuming he had a <9.2 n3DS, would this even work?

Wouldn't there be 6.x/7.x save encryption issues since he originally played with sysNAND 4.5?
 

Tikkito

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2014
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Orlando, Florida
XP
86
Country
United States
Oh didn't know gateway saves were encrypted as well. So basically even if I were to get the save file injected into the retail cart, my N3ds at 9.4 would read it as corrupt?
 

Oishikatta

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
971
Trophies
0
XP
593
Country
United States
Assuming he had a <9.2 n3DS, would this even work?

Wouldn't there be 6.x/7.x save encryption issues since he originally played with sysNAND 4.5?


There would if he had been playing on a retail cart. But since he's using a rom he can easily decrypt the save with savedatafiler.
 

Loaffy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2015
Messages
158
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
201
Country
Canada
There would if he had been playing on a retail cart. But since he's using a rom he can easily decrypt the save with savedatafiler.

Ah, thanks for the clarification. I didn't know this issue only affected retail carts. Good to know.
 

Tikkito

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2014
Messages
28
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Orlando, Florida
XP
86
Country
United States
What if I go out to best buy, find a N3ds with 9.2, do all this with that one, then return the 9.2 N3ds xl. Will I then be able to play normally on my 9.4 N3ds?
 

powersaver

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2015
Messages
297
Trophies
0
XP
118
Country
United States
I think most saves are region-specific, are they not?

I was wondering, has anyone figured out how to region-change saves? Is this even possible? Thanks.
 

Oishikatta

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
971
Trophies
0
XP
593
Country
United States
I don't know anything about the region issue, but if it was US then yes you would be able to go buy a 9.2 n3ds, use it to move the save, and then no longer need it.

Some saves (e.g. pokemon) can easily be moved between regions, some can with a little editing. You can test it by downloading a US rom of it and seeing if your save works with it.
 

thorasgar

Checkout my evil Soon-in-ator™
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
3,783
Trophies
1
XP
2,493
Country
United States
What if I go out to best buy, find a N3ds with 9.2, do all this with that one, then return the 9.2 N3ds xl. Will I then be able to play normally on my 9.4 N3ds?
If you truly stepped over to the Dark Side you might take an hour or two and switch the motherboards while you are at it.
 

Ronhero

Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die
Member
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
3,470
Trophies
0
Location
Arizona Bay
Website
127.0.0.1
XP
2,041
Country
United States
I think most saves are region-specific, are they not?

I was wondering, has anyone figured out how to region-change saves? Is this even possible? Thanks.


I change regions all the time with savedatafiler. I just rip the raw data from say the EU save and then make a dummy US save file and then transfer the data onto there.

It worked for me with MM when I got the private EU release and a few days later got the scene release US
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: currently banned