Hacking Discussion Info on SHA-256 hashes on FS patches

Malefic_weegee

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 18, 2018
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
65
Country
United States
Yes, look at the template I posted and just put your keys into that template - you got errors because you used a bunch of keys that are not required, also it makes the app slower to find the patches as it tries all the keys that are in your keys.dat file (which many are not needed).
Gotcha. All sorted now, thank you.
 

eradicatinglove

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 13, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
31
Country
United States
hello @mrdude sorry to bother but i been trying to use the windows stand alone version with firmware 12.0.0 . i keep getting an error saying something is wrong with your paths: usage example: python FS-autoips.py "firmware" "keys.dat" even tho i have firmware folder on my desktop and .nca in the root. and my keys are in scripts. i still get this error. i will attach a photo. if you have the time i would appreciate the help.
 

Attachments

  • autoips.PNG
    autoips.PNG
    32 KB · Views: 239

mrdude

Developer
Developer
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
3,071
Trophies
1
Age
56
XP
8,227
hello @mrdude sorry to bother but i been trying to use the windows stand alone version with firmware 12.0.0 . i keep getting an error saying something is wrong with your paths: usage example: python FS-autoips.py "firmware" "keys.dat" even tho i have firmware folder on my desktop and .nca in the root. and my keys are in scripts. i still get this error. i will attach a photo. if you have the time i would appreciate the help.
You don't have quotes at the start and end of your path, just drag the firmware folder onto the menu, that will save you needing to type anything.
 

eradicatinglove

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 13, 2021
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
31
Country
United States
You don't have quotes at the start and end of your path, just drag the firmware folder onto the menu, that will save you needing to type anything.
when i drag from desktop to menu it does not put the quotes automatically. and when i add them my self i get the same error. i downloaded your most recent 12.0.0 windows version you posted. i have no idea what im doing wrong.
 

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
9,858
Trophies
2
XP
28,904
Country
United Kingdom
Thank you all who worked on this. @mrdude I think it would be worth picking one central location, whether it's a github or a post in this thread or the first post of a new thread, to keep updated with the latest versions of everything. Just about all the scripts from your original bundle now have newer versions on other posts :lol:
Anyway thanks again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: FanboyKilla

mrdude

Developer
Developer
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
3,071
Trophies
1
Age
56
XP
8,227
Thank you all who worked on this. @mrdude I think it would be worth picking one central location, whether it's a github or a post in this thread or the first post of a new thread, to keep updated with the latest versions of everything. Just about all the scripts from your original bundle now have newer versions on other posts :lol:
Anyway thanks again.
I can see your point, however I have enough to deal with in life at the moment without worrying about keeping github pages updated. If you want to make your own github page and use the files posted - feel free, and you can always update yourself if new patches are added. Personally I just don't have the time or motivation to care about that myself. Also it would be easy to code a windows app to do the same thing as the python scripts, but nobody has done this either and they have been available for ages, so it's not a big deal for most people. I think most just get sigpatches from exhumer or itotaljustice github pages anyway.

This thread was really just started about how the patches are made and was for information - not about providing patches/scripts to people.
 

hippy dave

BBMB
Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
9,858
Trophies
2
XP
28,904
Country
United Kingdom
I can see your point, however I have enough to deal with in life at the moment without worrying about keeping github pages updated. If you want to make your own github page and use the files posted - feel free, and you can always update yourself if new patches are added. Personally I just don't have the time or motivation to care about that myself. Also it would be easy to code a windows app to do the same thing as the python scripts, but nobody has done this either and they have been available for ages, so it's not a big deal for most people. I think most just get sigpatches from exhumer or itotaljustice github pages anyway.

This thread was really just started about how the patches are made and was for information - not about providing patches/scripts to people.
Fair enough. Either way, your efforts are appreciated and the thread was an interesting read B-)
 

mrdude

Developer
Developer
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
3,071
Trophies
1
Age
56
XP
8,227
For information: Updating and dumping firmware without using your sysnand (for making patches) or switch homebrew from your updated emunand firmware.

For those that have a clean emunand that's not had anything installed (you can make a small one with NxNandManager), you can update the firmware on that from nintendo servers.

Once updated open the emunand with Hacdiskmount and open the system partition (you'll need your biss keys for this).
Mount that partition to drive A.

Now open drive A in windows explorer and navigate to the folder where you see a "registered" folder.

Copy "registered" folder to some folder on your computer.

Inside the folder you copied the "registered" folder to - make a batch file containing this:

Code:
cd /D "%~dp0"

if not exist "files" mkdir "files"
cd registered
FOR /D /r %%G in (*) DO (
cd %%~nxG
ren "00" "%%~nxG"
move "%%~nxG" "../../files"
REM copy /B "%%~nxG" "../../files/%%~nxG"
cd ..
)

cd ..
rd "registered" /s /q
rename "files" "firmware"

Then to make the dumped files after using the batch above - make them daybreak compatible:
Code:
@echo off
@setlocal enableextensions enabledelayedexpansion

cd /D "%~dp0"
cd firmware

for %%a in (*.nca) do (
    set nca=%%a
    set /a ncasize=%%~za

    if !ncasize! LSS 5633 (
        ren %%a "*.cnmt.nca"
    )
)

Now run that batch file and it will convert the files in the "registered" folder to firmware files you can use with the Auto-Ips program - then you can generate your es/fs patches.
 
Last edited by mrdude,
  • Like
Reactions: impeeza and peteruk

mrdude

Developer
Developer
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
3,071
Trophies
1
Age
56
XP
8,227
For those that want to dump firmware with a switch homebrew app - this will create a dump on your micro sd card inside a folder called "Dumped Firmware".

Note - dumps will work for generating patches, and you can flash them with ChoiDujourNX or Daybreak - however there's no hash checks carried out during dumping, so it's wise to only flash FW files straight from Ninty-endo. You can use a Clean small emunand file to update with - then either extract the files as per the post above this - or try using Atmosphere with this homebrew to get your dump.
 
Last edited by mrdude,
  • Like
Reactions: impeeza and peteruk

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
30,824
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
29,820
Country
Poland
For those that want to dump firmware with a switch homebrew app - this will create a dump on your micro sd card inside a folder called "Dumped Firmware".

Note - dumps will work for generating patches, and you can flash them with ChoiDujourNX or Daybreak - however there's no hash checks carried out during dumping, so it's wise to only flash FW files straight from Ninty-endo. You can use a Clean small emunand file to update with - then either extract the files as per the post above this - or try using Atmosphere with this homebrew to get your dump.
Under GPLv3 you are required to provide a copy of the license and the source, please add them to your package before hosting the file.
 

impeeza

¡Kabito!
Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2011
Messages
6,319
Trophies
3
Age
46
Location
At my chair.
XP
18,565
Country
Colombia
this is what happens when i use python also View attachment 258052
@eradicatinglove, Buddy, you need to read the instructions, you are missing an important file on your folders, that file is unique to your switch and need to be dumped from yours (LockPick_RCM is the tool if you wonder), then copy it onto the instructed folder on the readme file and/or to the folder of your profile stated on the Hactool readme.

RTM is your answer.
 
Last edited by impeeza, , Reason: typo and user reference

mrdude

Developer
Developer
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
3,071
Trophies
1
Age
56
XP
8,227
Can't download, virus detected
Probably your antivirus software is detecting the executable file in the zip and is flagging a false positive. If you are worried , just download the python scripts instead of the windows file.
 

wrsg

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2012
Messages
105
Trophies
1
XP
531
Country
United States
Probably your antivirus software is detecting the executable file in the zip and is flagging a false positive. If you are worried , just download the python scripts instead of the windows file.
Where are the official python scripts/
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    SylverReZ @ SylverReZ: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uLN9qrJ8ESs