info needed on wii drive

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by steveroo, Nov 19, 2011.

Nov 19, 2011

info needed on wii drive by steveroo at 10:09 PM (1,554 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. steveroo
    OP

    Member steveroo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Oak Bay
    Country:
    Canada
    my red, version 4.3 wii has been soft modded using a wiihacks.com guide and works perfectly.
    i want to trade my red wii for a white wii, for its dvd drive which load dvds, and backed up gamecube games.

    Do all white wiis play dvds and dvdr gamecubes? Is there a model that I should watch out for?
    does the older white wiis function as well as the new 4.3 wiis? i.e. loading my hard drive that is filled with backed up games that have been used on the 4.3 model
     
  2. Burton

    Member Burton Real Life VIP and Educator

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    880
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    I'm going to be a little more specific. In terms of softmodding a white Wii might work the same as the red one however if your motivation for acquiring a white Wii is for the drive then you should know that not all White wiis play dvd-r backups. Since mid 2008 newer wiis came with a drive called d3-2 that prevented playing from dvd-r backups. To know if maybe(a big maybe) the white Wii might play the dvd-r you should look into that Wii serial number. This link might help http://www.wiidrives.com/list
    If there is any chance for you to test the White Wii before making the trade will be better!
     
  3. rip-it-up

    Member rip-it-up GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    242
    Location:
    manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    your best off buyin a older drive off ebay like a dms d2c etc and swapping it with the one you have now.

    im sure it will work but correct me if im wrong
     
  4. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    i god my wii on december 3 2010 from game stop and it CAN play backups. get it from there and hope it has a old drive
     
  5. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Not all white wii's have drives that can read burned discs, only the older wiis. So you would be gambling on it if you traded your wii in for another one. You are best off just to change the logic board on the drive.
     
  6. steveroo
    OP

    Member steveroo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Oak Bay
    Country:
    Canada
    Correct me if i'm wrong.
    All that is needed to to know if the drive is playable of dvdrs is the version number and serial/model number found under the wii?

    Thanks everyone for your quick responses.
     
  7. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Not true because if the wii was ever sent back to nintendo then they could have swapped out the drive for one that can't read burned discs.
     
  8. steveroo
    OP

    Member steveroo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Oak Bay
    Country:
    Canada
    I love my red wii and I'm now thinking about changing drives. A video on youtube made swapping drives look extremely easy to do.

    Is the dms d2c drive all that is required for my wii to play dvdrs?

    would this drive work on my wii?

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/DVD-ROM-Drive-Wii-NEW-D2A-/160592478813?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_2&hash=item25640ec25d
    my serial is LU92251564
     
  9. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    It is extremely easy to do. It shouldn't take any longer than 5 minutes. Yes, that drive will work, but it is cheaper to buy just the logic board instead of the whole drive.As long as you can solder 3 simple wires then you can swap the logic board easily.
     
  10. steveroo
    OP

    Member steveroo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Oak Bay
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm confused. I thought the red 4.3 wiis cannot play any dvdrs.


    If I decided to go ahead with a change of logic boards, I can play dvdrs on my red wii?
     
  11. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yes.
    The only difference between a Wii that can play backup discs and a Wii that cant, is the dvd logic board.

    Also, theres 4 wires that needs to be soldered. They are relatively big and sit by themselves, so its hard to mess it up.
     
  12. steveroo
    OP

    Member steveroo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Oak Bay
    Country:
    Canada
  13. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    The 2nd. A chip doesnt help, you need the old PCB (d2whatever).
     
  14. steveroo
    OP

    Member steveroo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Oak Bay
    Country:
    Canada
  15. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Go with the second one, the one that actually says "plays copies", and you'll be happy.
     
  16. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    D3-2 is probably the one you already have so, you dont want that :)

    D2 is what you want (2nd link).
     
  17. steveroo
    OP

    Member steveroo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Oak Bay
    Country:
    Canada
    when changing the wii drive replacement board, will i lose all my save data and homebrew?
     
  18. Porobu

    Member Porobu Gbatemps Shiny Latias

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042
    Country:
    Spain
  19. steveroo
    OP

    Member steveroo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Oak Bay
    Country:
    Canada
    thanks, i'm doing the mechanical work now.
     
  20. steveroo
    OP

    Member steveroo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Oak Bay
    Country:
    Canada
    The new board I bought is larger than the original board on my wii, and looks different. My connecting wires fit in to the new slots but the large brown connecting slot is wider than the original.

    is this normal? do I need to change my optical drive laser as well?
     

Share This Page