Infectus 2 Problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by stefanox, Jan 3, 2011.

Jan 3, 2011

Infectus 2 Problem by stefanox at 1:49 PM (3,025 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. stefanox
    OP

    Member stefanox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United States
    i have a infectus 2 here, the first time i hooked up the chip to the laptop and start programmer software, got the message "Firmware Update" i accept the message, en update begins, after 2 min my laptop goes off, battery low.

    now when i try to program the infectus chip to nand programmer, nothing happens, is here a slution for??
     
  2. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
    dont use the official infectus software; its crap
     
  3. stefanox
    OP

    Member stefanox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United States
    in order tu use it with example xavbox nand flasher, i must program it to nandflasher with infectus software, or iam wrong?
     
  4. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    does windows detect is as a USB device when you plug it in? If not then it could be bricked from power off during their lame update.

    But you should have just used xavbox and their drivers and have never bothered with the infectus software, but too late now.
     
  5. stefanox
    OP

    Member stefanox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United States
    hi deadly,

    yes windows detect it as a usb device
     
  6. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Well then just go ahead and use the drivers that bushing made. They are (I think) available with xavbox.

    Dont screw with te infectus software. It is a waste of time in all honestly.

    BTW, I kinda missed ya when I was banned.
     
  7. stefanox
    OP

    Member stefanox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United States
    I kinda missed ya when I was banned.
     
  8. lulwut

    Member lulwut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Japan
     
  9. stefanox
    OP

    Member stefanox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United States
    has nothing to do with wire and shortcuts,
    i flash the nand outside the board.

    @DF get a new error message:
    When i try to go into nand mode (infectus software) get the message "Failed to program DMK"
    [​IMG]
     
  10. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    When using the infectus software, you have to switch the drivers to the ones that came with the software.

    Theres a set of drivers for the infectus software, and then there a set of drivers for amoxiflash/xavbox.

    I'm not sure if drivers are your issue, but thats the only thing that comes to mind. Other than that I have no clue of what to do since I'm not there looking at your computer.
     
  11. stefanox
    OP

    Member stefanox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United States
    @DF you are correct, when using xavbox software i used set of drivers for amoxiflash/xavbox.

    But this is a new infectus chip, so before using it as a nand programmer , must set it in nand program mode with the demz infectus software, if i using the infectus software i switch drivers to set of drivers for the infectus software.
    startup software, hit actel firmware, check nand programmer, hit actel firmware, hit program,

    there i get the error "Failed to program dmk
     
  12. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    If you put the xavbox drivers back on and hook up the infectus and start up xavbox, will xavbox recognize the infectus??
     
  13. stefanox
    OP

    Member stefanox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United States
    @DF

    Start xavbox,
    Detect USB CHECKED.

    open: GEM CHIP V10 - Error during infectus reset !
     
  14. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Try from a different computer that you've never hooked an infectus up to before. Use the official infectus drivers and software. Try that and see what happens.

    BTW, does the infectus get really hot when you have it plugged in?
     
  15. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    If you got it to check the "Detect USB", then thats kind of a good sign. At leave the xavbox software can see it.

    Do you have the infectus hooked up to a wii or nand right now?
     
  16. stefanox
    OP

    Member stefanox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    United States
    @DF

    ok, will try that, and let you know if worls or not.
    infectus become not hot, stay normal
     
  17. peterpunkgoose

    Newcomer peterpunkgoose Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @ Deadlyfoez

    I have a infectus 2 and the QFPs get really hot fast, it was not detected by USB and i wiggled the ribbon cable when it wasn't clipped down and the LEDs came on and windows recognised it was connected but as soon as i move it or clip the cable down, it loses connection. any suggestions would be great. Thanks
     
  18. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    there are 2 strands on the ribbon cable that need to be removed or broken off. There was a batch of infectus's that had this issue. I will have to post up my pic again or find it where ever it is so you know exactly which ones to cut.
     
  19. peterpunkgoose

    Newcomer peterpunkgoose Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @DF
    Thanks for the quick reply, if you could find your picture that would be great, thanks for your help.


    * I found a post (by yourself) and got my infectus working buy cutting the two strands out. however i cannot read the NANDs, i have a COK-002 and i am unsure whether i need to power the NANDs and with what voltage as some have said 1.8V some have said 3.3V.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page