In need of serious help

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Dylan, Mar 22, 2008.

Mar 22, 2008

In need of serious help by Dylan at 3:05 AM (1,118 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

1. Dylan
    OP

Member Dylan 100 MILES AND RUNNIN'

Australia
    Hi

I am really keen on learning how to make games with PAlib on my mac but I have no knowledge on the matter. I have all the software I need and im trying to learn C language coding but when I read this http://www.palib.info/wiki/doku.php?id=day2 there is so much I don't understand. I obviously need to learn some computer terms to help with learning C coding. Can some please link me to a wiki or book or anything that can help me. Feel free to email me at flyingv@tpg.com.au

Many people have said it is really hard to learn but I am dedicated and would really like to so please help me out.

Thanks

2. notnarb

Member notnarb Not narbing it up

That page is probably as easy as it gets (lol @ all the comments someone added, it would've been nice if they just changed it rather then leaving the old stuff up there)
    Is there anything specific you don't get? You know what a variable is, correct? (I'm clueless as to how accelerated Aussie schools are)

3. Dylan
    OP

Australia
    Many of the terms I don't understand like all of this

Integer sizes are compiler and platform dependant. For example, GCC for arm9/arm has a 32-bit long and a 64-bit long long; ARM RVCT has 64 and 64; GHOC may be configured as you like. The CodeWarrior implementation in the official kit does not have a 64-bit native type at all; you have to roll one yourself from structures and assembly, or use the posix type, whose software implementation is pretty abominably slow. If this was true, std::numeric_limits would not need to exist, nor would a quarter of , nor would sizeof(). This is ridiculous. This is chapter one material in both K&R and Stroustrup. Please god, learn C/C++ yourself before attempting to teach it to others.