Hacking In Desperate Need Of Help With Semi-Brick

Labatryth

Christian Fantasy Writer
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2011
Messages
123
Trophies
0
Location
My Glorious Cavern
Website
www.labatryth.deviantart.com
XP
99
Country
United States
Okay, so....

I put the new drive in.

NO WORK.

Although the new drive is nice and does sound quieter, I still have THE SAME FREAKING PROBLEM I HAD BEFORE. I'm about ready to give up. Anybody got any suggestions? Should I just disassemble the whole thing and take a good look over the main motherboard? There has to be something wrong hardware wise!

RIGHT?!
 

M1r0

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2010
Messages
354
Trophies
0
XP
33
Country
United States
If it's not to obvious that you changed the drive/or you could pput old one back. Then load from unhacked backup, delete bootmii, everything like that, and then send to Ninty. Also, how the hell did you get a backup before you hacked?
 

Labatryth

Christian Fantasy Writer
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2011
Messages
123
Trophies
0
Location
My Glorious Cavern
Website
www.labatryth.deviantart.com
XP
99
Country
United States
I want to be honest to Nintendo and not take advantage of their services. To put everything back together and virginize would be like lying. Also I took a BootMii backup right after installing it with HackMii. I hadn't gotten anything else installed except the Homebrew Chanel. That was back when I first bought the Wii. Refer to page one of this thread. I was on System Menu 4.2u.
 

M1r0

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2010
Messages
354
Trophies
0
XP
33
Country
United States
You want to be honest to nintendo? After all the bricking they have tried to do with error 003 so we are forced to send the region changed wii's in? Don't feel compassion for Ninty.
 

DeadlyFoez

XFlak Fanboy
Banned
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
5,920
Trophies
0
Website
DeadlyFoez.zzl.org
XP
2,873
Country
United States
Labatryth said:
I want to be honest to Nintendo and not take advantage of their services. To put everything back together and virginize would be like lying. Also I took a BootMii backup right after installing it with HackMii. I hadn't gotten anything else installed except the Homebrew Chanel. That was back when I first bought the Wii. Refer to page one of this thread. I was on System Menu 4.2u.
Props to you for wanting to be an honest person. Just realize that it won't get you very far.

So you've replaced the drive? And you still have this issue? And you've already flashed a virgin built nand to it. Jeeze, got to be a hardware issue of a different sort. IDK what advice to give you other than to clean out all homebrew and send it to nintendo
biggrin.gif
 

Donkey Plonk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
421
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
DeadlyFoez said:
Labatryth said:
I want to be honest to Nintendo and not take advantage of their services. To put everything back together and virginize would be like lying. Also I took a BootMii backup right after installing it with HackMii. I hadn't gotten anything else installed except the Homebrew Chanel. That was back when I first bought the Wii. Refer to page one of this thread. I was on System Menu 4.2u.
Props to you for wanting to be an honest person. Just realize that it won't get you very far.

So you've replaced the drive? And you still have this issue? And you've already flashed a virgin built nand to it. Jeeze, got to be a hardware issue of a different sort. IDK what advice to give you other than to clean out all homebrew and send it to nintendo
biggrin.gif
Completely agree.
Honesty will get you nowhere apart from forking out for a new wii.
 

Labatryth

Christian Fantasy Writer
OP
Member
Joined
Mar 12, 2011
Messages
123
Trophies
0
Location
My Glorious Cavern
Website
www.labatryth.deviantart.com
XP
99
Country
United States
Okay so I stripped my wii down to the motherboard. I have cleaned the ribbon cable and receiver with contact cleaner. I have also removed the DVD drive and tried to run the Wii without it. I still get the same "An error has occurred". I have taken everything off of the motherboard and cleaned it. My guess is it's not the ribbon cable, or removing the drive and running the wii would work, since the cable had no appliance to work with? I am cleaning all the connectors I can see on the main board with contact cleaner and am going to put it all back together. I have scanned the board over for any broken pieces of circuitry. None. ZIPPO. I can't find what's wrong. Everything looks pristine. Yet something is causing my problem. I'll get back to you with my results of what happens after I put it all together and test my Wii out again.

Here's a video documenting what I did. PLEASE WATCH. It goes into a lot more detail. What do I need to buy? Or am I [email protected]#$%ed?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KV2LHdMAQfg
 

Donkey Plonk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
421
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
Labatryth said:
DeadlyFoez said:
Labatryth said:
What do I need to buy? Or am I [email protected]#$%ed?
You only are if you decide not to send it to N. Just sell your wii on ebay and buy a brand new one.


But they won't take modified consoles.
FFS, be smart about it then.
Wipe the shit, and wipe it properly, if you can't remove all traces of homebrew then just take it apart and remove something necessary from the board, simple, 1 dead wii.

Nintendo don't take em apart and check the mobo over as far as I'm aware, it'd be too much work. They'll get consoles in, run their disc or whatever that tests for homebrew. If they're anything like my place they may try to fix minor issues but any black screens or similar they'll just stick em in to be replaced.
 

DeadlyFoez

XFlak Fanboy
Banned
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
5,920
Trophies
0
Website
DeadlyFoez.zzl.org
XP
2,873
Country
United States
Donkey Plonk said:
FFS, be smart about it then.
Wipe the shit, and wipe it properly, if you can't remove all traces of homebrew then just take it apart and remove something necessary from the board, simple, 1 dead wii.

Nintendo don't take em apart and check the mobo over as far as I'm aware, it'd be too much work. They'll get consoles in, run their disc or whatever that tests for homebrew. If they're anything like my place they may try to fix minor issues but any black screens or similar they'll just stick em in to be replaced.
Of course they take them apart, and no it's not too much work. They hire people to do this stuff all day. It takes someone about 3 minutes to do a full teardown on a wii.

Yes, you can remove all traces of homebrew using pune nand builder app (like the OP has already done once), as long as you make sure bootmii is not installed as boot2.

I suggest taking the wii apart again and wiping off all finger prints that you may have left on the inside of the wii. Do not take something off of the mobo like what Donkey Plonk suggests. If they find something missing then they certainly will not fix it.

One trick I have done a few times in the past was apply reversed power to the wii to fry it. Basically put some short pieces of paperclips inside the end of the AC power adapter and touch it to the prongs of the wii console but opposite of what is normal. The wii is instantly fried and definitely no chance of them finding homebrew. Care not to touch the 2 pieces of paperclip together as you will fry your AC adapter.

(why am I giving someone advice on how to commit fraud?)
 

tueidj

I R Expert
Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
2,569
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
999
Country
DeadlyFoez said:
Yes, you can remove all traces of homebrew using pune nand builder app (like the OP has already done once), as long as you make sure bootmii is not installed as boot2.
Or the safer method:
- Build clean nand with nand builder
- Write it to NAND using bootmii boot2, thus avoiding the chance of being bricked if bootmii IOS fails while writing
- Run bootmini.elf and remove both bootmii as boot2 then bootmii as IOS
 

DeadlyFoez

XFlak Fanboy
Banned
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
5,920
Trophies
0
Website
DeadlyFoez.zzl.org
XP
2,873
Country
United States
tueidj said:
DeadlyFoez said:
Yes, you can remove all traces of homebrew using pune nand builder app (like the OP has already done once), as long as you make sure bootmii is not installed as boot2.
Or the safer method:
- Build clean nand with nand builder
- Write it to NAND using bootmii boot2, thus avoiding the chance of being bricked if bootmii IOS fails while writing
- Run bootmini.elf and remove both bootmii as boot2 then bootmii as IOS
I have to agree with you there. You are correct on that.

Well at least in this persons case, if it does fail on the flashing then it is still a win/win no matter what. N won't find traces of homebrew either way with either of our suggestions, but yes, your way is safer. Thank you for that insight that I did not care to take the time to think about before.

One question though, someone had said that even when you do remove bootmii from boot2, there is still traces left there. I have not found any bit of evidence to support that. As far as I know when you use the hackmii installer to remove bootmii from boot2 then it restores it back to factory. Can you confirm or deny that please. And thank you.
 

XFlak

Wiitired but still kicking
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2009
Messages
12,574
Trophies
2
Age
36
Location
Cyprus, originally from Toronto
Website
modmii.github.io
XP
6,925
Country
Cyprus
DeadlyFoez said:
One question though, someone had said that even when you do remove bootmii from boot2, there is still traces left there.
I don't know the answer to your question, but I thought I'd add my 2 cents on a related point. If the Wii has bootmii installed @ boot2 but boot2 is v3 or under, an official ninty update will update boot2 to v4 and that will definitely leave no traces of bootmii on boot2.

Also, using the method tueidj posted above... would running bootmini.elf auto-reinstall bootmii @ IOS? I know that the hackmii installer boot.elf automatically installs bootmii @ IOS before you are even brought to the hackmii installer main menu, and I thought bootmini.elf operated in the exact same way. So using his method, one would have to use bootmini.elf to uninstall bootmii @ boot2 and bootmii @ IOS... and I think that would most likely leave traces behind.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    eeeeyikes
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    on the flip side, i was able to give the dingus machine that i nearly screwed the cpu up on a solid state drive
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    and i cleverly got the idea to move the pagefile to it
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    i think my ram's slower than that solid state drive, jesus christ
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    it seems like the pc chugs, then gets exponentially faster after what i can only assume is the pc running out of physsey
    ram
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    whereas before it just chugged no matter what
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    slow pagefile, slow ram, now the pagefile's leaving poor phrammy in the dust
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    and all this on a dingus windows 7 pc with no graphics card, of all things
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    an optiplex 755 MT
    Gift
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I deal with bent CPU pins on a almost daily basis...
    Gift
  • Digitalcat @ Digitalcat:
    bent cpu pins are my fav, love unbending them and then bending even more by accident.
    Gift
  • Digitalcat @ Digitalcat:
    Hate how they are getting thinner and thinner.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Didn't they invent those nubs and contacts a while ago so we wouldn't have to deal with a million pins when plugging in a CPU?
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    What happened to that?
    Gift
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I think Intel still uses LGA?
    Gift
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    not to well known with the newer CPUs
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    optiplicks
    Gift
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    New AMD is still on pins Intel went LGA but rumor is they are swapping with AMD going LGA and Intel maybe going back to pins
    Gift
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    [turns it all into USB-B] Problem Fixed
    Gift
  • AliceCE @ AliceCE:
    CPU but awesome
    Gift
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    CPU's? But I'm still working on EMP's
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    C U P?
    Gift
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    A CUP? with no COFFEE in it? BAD. smh
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Seee Yoooou Peeee.
    Gift
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Oh hell no! I still like my privacy in the restroom! :angry:
    Gift
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: Oh hell no! I still like my privacy in the restroom! :angry: