Question Importing saves from a dead switch with backup Nand

Discussion in 'Switch - Exploits, Custom Firmwares & Soft Mods' started by Boomerams, Nov 17, 2018.

  1. Anisse

    Anisse Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Feb 1, 2019
    United States
    Yeah I would use hactoolnet but I have no idea how to use it, when I look at the github I just get very confused LOL Sorry..

    But, Oh that makes so much more sense. I completely wasnt thinking that restoring them through checkpoint would assign them to the console, whenever I thought of using checkpoint I figured there was no point because then the NAND isnt clean. There wouldnt be evidence of using checkpoint or something else that Nintendo might flag with this method would there?
     
  2. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    8
    Jun 19, 2018
    United States
    Hell
    Nah. Checkpoint uses the Switch's native FS shit to resign the save and whatever iirc, so it should be fine
     
    Last edited by ZachyCatGames, Feb 1, 2019
  3. Anisse

    Anisse Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Feb 1, 2019
    United States
    Okay awesome. Itll proabably take a while but at least I know what I need to do now! Thank you very much.
     
    ZachyCatGames likes this.
  4. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    18
    Aug 6, 2017
    United States
    New York City
    You know people have been banned for only using Checkpoint right? And before you bring it up, I'm talking about without using ReiNX either.
     
  5. Anisse

    Anisse Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Feb 1, 2019
    United States
    @Draxzelex Does that mean I shouldnt do it that way? Can you tell me what my options are here?
     
  6. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    18
    Aug 6, 2017
    United States
    New York City
    Actually his suggestion is pretty rock-solid since restoring the NAND + boot0/boot1 should wipe out any trace of you using Checkpoint/CFW. I would just make one tiny alteration to his suggestion and delete any Wi-Fi settings before you run CFW & Checkpoint. This way you don't risk any telemetry being transferred during the one time you boot CFW to restore the save with Checkpoint. All of his other steps are perfectly fine as is. Also make sure you dump the NAND + boot0/boot1 with Hekate and not something like SX OS or the ReiNX toolkit.
     
    ZachyCatGames likes this.
  7. adev

    adev Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 12, 2018
    United States
    I'm pretty sure my method isn't going to be useful for your situation because I transferred saves from a stock switch to a hacked one, where it sounds like you're trying to do the opposite. Also, I used CFW and Checkpoint on the hacked switch to inject the game saves back.
     
  8. Anisse

    Anisse Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Feb 1, 2019
    United States
    Okay so I actually ended up unbricking the bricked switch. At this point couldnt I just move the saves via SD card and call nintendo to unlink the account and then recover it onto the stock switch? And then just have the other switch for hacking?
     
  9. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    18
    Aug 6, 2017
    United States
    New York City
    If you mean move the saves to the SD card via homebrew, then you can go that route because you can't move the saves to the SD card any other way. And if you need any excuses for getting them to unlink the account, just tell them you lost the console or you sold it to a friend and forgot to factory reset.
     
  10. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    8
    Jun 19, 2018
    United States
    Hell
    If you unbricked the bricked one, you could just use the account transfer feature :P
     
  11. Anisse

    Anisse Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Feb 1, 2019
    United States
    Even if its running on 6.1 through CFW? Will that cause any issues\flags with my own switch?
     
  12. ZachyCatGames

    ZachyCatGames GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    8
    Jun 19, 2018
    United States
    Hell
    Oh, it has CFW? Idk, might not be a great idea then
     
  13. pka4916

    pka4916 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    4
    May 24, 2006
    United States
    USA
    How do you put the saves all back on a different switch.
    The folders are all different
    also, the original files had a total of 1 Gb and once it was converted, it's only 44 Mb... seems odd to me.
     
  14. reinaldox_

    reinaldox_ Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Aug 18, 2009
    United States
    help! the tool is not working. its giving me a lot problems the run.bat. messages like "header out of the values range". can anyone help me with the hactoolnet? i dont know nothing about programming an updated tool for newer saves. maybe i am doing something wrong?
     
  15. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch

    Member
    8
    GBAtemp Patron
    pLaYeR^^ is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Sep 18, 2014
    Austria
    Austria
    If you post a screenshot of the errors which you are recieving, it would be a lot easier for people to help you.
     
  16. bootmonster

    bootmonster GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    7
    Oct 26, 2002
    United States
    You were almost there with this. You can insert and resign saves with hactoolnet, I have been playing around with this and have it working.

    If anyone is interested I can put together a tutorial?

    Will be especially useful for transferring saves from a hacked switch to a legit switch with no traces of Homebrew.
     
  17. kimbra

    kimbra Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jun 6, 2019
    United States
    United States
    Whenever I try to insert and resign edited save data files to NAND format and put it back into a mounted NAND, restoring with the NAND just results in the edited save's game crashing immediately to a black screen with an offer to send the report to Ninendo. A tutorial would be incredibly helpful!
     
  18. LuisBarraco

    LuisBarraco Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 18, 2019
    Portugal
    Yes could you please make a tutorial? It would be extremely helpful to me!! Thank you in advance!
     
Loading...