[IMPORTANT] How to get HBC on Vigrin Wii 4.0

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by zidane_genome, May 3, 2009.

  1. zidane_genome
    OP

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Because there are 10 threads a day asking how to get the Homebrew Channel on a virgin Wii with Firmware 4.0, here is the guide.

    Step 1

    WAIT!

    that's it. at this point there is no way. you can't with a mod chip either.

    REASONS:

    To put homebrew on via a modchip, you need the trucha bug in at least one IOS, which Nintendo has patched up in 4.0. The bug is completely gone.

    No, you can't use MarioKart Wii to patch in a version of the Homebrew Channel because you would need the trucha bug, and on 4.0 it's gone.

    No, you can't use the Twilight Hack, because Nintendo has disabled that as well. When you put the TPHack on your system menu, it will remove all "bad" code from it, rendering it a regular save file, with no hacks.

    If you accidentally upgraded via the Update button, sorry, but your just going to have to wait.

    If you bought your Wii with 4.0 on it, agian, sorry, but you'll have to wait.
     


  2. marice

    Member marice GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you know this thread is on page 5 within hours,
    and the newbs will continue spamming with these questions anyway?
     
  3. zidane_genome
    OP

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    No, because people will keep bumping it, and hopefully it get's stickied for a short time... then agian, no one ever reads the stickies anyway...
     
  4. Dueler

    Member Dueler GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Australia
    There is another option,
    Learn how to code wii then make an exploit yourself then release it for everyone on a 4.0 xD
     
  5. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    You can reintroduce the trucha bug to 4.0 and there are a few thread in this board of how to do it.
    But ofcourse you would need an exploit to do it on a virgin Wii and since the Twilight Hack doesn't work anymore you'll have to wait for something new like bannerbomb...
     
  6. spawn844

    Member spawn844 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Canada
    THis is correct HOWEVER people do read title names:P
     
  7. Soplox

    Banned Soplox Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    soon this will be completely filled with noobs crying
    lol
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Let's discuss something to keep the thread up...

    But how to do that on a Wii that was produced with 4.0? I think all new Wiis are "unsoftmoddable" ones, which can't run old IOS. How do you want to reintroduce the trucha bug without using a trucha capable IOS? I know you can install Waninkoko's new cIOS on these Wiis, but how do you do that without using the IOS35 trick?
     
  9. Soplox

    Banned Soplox Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Location:
    Puerto Rico
    Country:
    Puerto Rico


    So here is the proof that everyone has been wanting, this has the .dol loading code implemented. It only technically works on 3.2 at the time being but its a small fix to get it to work for the other versions (including 3.4 and 4.0). Comex is a bit busy right now so those versions will follow soon (like tomorrow or the next day).

    The exploit is very simple, just put the file on your sd card (which will be a channel).
    Go to the SD channel menu and a dialog will pop up, hit yes and it will load boot.dol from the root of the SD Card. It can load any .dol so this means you can run Homebrew on a Wii with ease if you don't want to fully Mod your Wii.
     
  10. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    You seem not to understand the problem. On a "unsoftmoddable" 4.0 Wii you might be able to run code when an exploit is released. But how do you want to get a trucha compatible IOS?
     
  11. Bapao

    Newcomer Bapao Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, let's code an exploit guys! [/sarcasm]
     
  12. icefireicefire

    Member icefireicefire GBATemp Fails.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    961
    Country:
    United States
    We already have one...by comex...its kinda (well, more than kinda) lame though, in how it works [​IMG].
     
  13. ganons

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so when is that gonna be released by comex?
     
  14. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
     
  15. zidane_genome
    OP

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    you need the trucha bug to install any cIOS, so at this point, it's kinda pointless to get the exploit... all you can run is the HBC, no softmods, no hd loaders, and I don't even think you can install WADs without a cIOS anymore, since all the IOS's are trucha fixed
     
  16. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    As long as the person on 4.0 doesn't have an "unsoftmoddable" wii, having the HBC installed via a future exploit will let him do the DVDX/IOS35 downgrade method to reintroduce the Trucha bug. Of course for the "unsoftmoddable" folks on 4.0 we'll have to see if they can ever crack those to the point of being able to downgrade them. After all the other stuff that's happened in the scene I wouldn't be surprised if it happens.
     
  17. nab

    Newcomer nab Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    Canada
    What if I have HBC on a system 4.0? How do I get the SD card update to work with wads?
     
  18. Aurora Wright

    Member Aurora Wright GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,392
    Country:
    Italy
    Are you sure about that? [​IMG]
     
  19. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    That downgrade process uses the Trucha bug since what it does is use a nonpublic exploit that allows an older IOS35 to be installed. This works fine for most of us, but an "unsoftmoddable" Wii on 4.0 wouldn't let you run anything off of the older version of IOS35.
     
  20. 9th_Sage

    Member 9th_Sage GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm... out of curiosity, please explain. I'm not sure what your definition of unsoftmodable is. I'm curious as to why, if the IOS35 did indeed install (I don't know much about this downgrader thing as I have absolutely no need for it), why System Menu 4 would magically block anything from using it.
     

Share This Page