I'm (trying) to build a gaming desktop

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Gariscus, Jan 11, 2011.

Jan 11, 2011
  1. Gariscus
    OP

Member Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod

Australia
    Using my limited knowledge I selected these parts:

BenQ V2420H 24 Inch Widescreen LED Monitor $249.00

Antec Twelve Hundred Case $209.00

Lite-On IHAS324 24x DVDRW $29.00

Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4 Motherboard $219.00

Corsair CMX4GX3M1A1333C9 4GB (1x4GB) DDR3 $59.00

Western Digital Caviar Blue 1TB WD10EALX $85.00

Corsair Force Series 60GB SSD $149.00

Intel Core i5 2500 $229.00

Galaxy GeForce GTX 570 1280MB $409.00

Antec EarthWatts 750W $127.00

ASUS PCE-N13 802.11 Wireless N PCI-Express Adapter $42.00

All prices are in AUD. The prices are from pccasegear.com.

As I'm a somewhat a noob when it comes to selecting parts I'd appreciate some help. [​IMG]

I already have a mouse, keyboard, headphones(I'm not really interested in speakers at the moment) and I would like to be able to play most games on highest settings.

I had trouble calculating the watts and am not sure if I chose the right PSU(I may want to overclock someday, once I'm more experienced). [​IMG]

2. trumpet-205

Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

United States
    What kind of gaming are you looking at? Casual/medicore/extreme?

GTX 570 is for those who want extreme graphics. If you don't play game on max graphic settings you can go down a little.

3. Originality

Member Originality Chibi-neko

United Kingdom
    CPU: Good choice, although you might want to consider going for the 2500K version for overclocking, and later getting an after-market cooler (recommending one is hard for now, since there aren't many 1155 compatible coolers). Overclocking a 2500K can easily outperform a core i7-980X in most areas (even if it's overclocked), and it won't increase the power draw by all that much.