I'm thinking about getting an R4...

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Scytheandsickle, Sep 3, 2007.

Sep 3, 2007
  1. Scytheandsickle
    OP

    Member Scytheandsickle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My questions are:
    1. Are you able to use ROM running on R4 on Nintendo WFC?
    2. You don't need a FlashMe/PassMe for an R4 because it has one built in, right?
     


  2. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Yes and yes.
     
  3. RiotShooter

    Member RiotShooter GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    1. what do u mean ROM running?
    2. correct
     
  4. Scytheandsickle
    OP

    Member Scytheandsickle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I mean like how the Wii can't connect to R4s but can it connect to WFC when you're running like a MPH Rom?
    and can the R4 boot up without a MicroSD inserted?
     
  5. Hiratai

    Banned Hiratai I'm like *tick* *tick*

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,031
    Country:
    United States
    Yes and no to previous post.

    But a CycloEVO can, and it has outstanding features. [​IMG]
     
  6. Scytheandsickle
    OP

    Member Scytheandsickle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I wouldn't be able to check if the R4 I got was working before I got an MicroSD card?
     
  7. chuckstudios

    Member chuckstudios Putting the pro in procrastination

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    896
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Country:
    United States
  8. pootman

    Newcomer pootman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Working or not, it won't do a thing without the MicroSD card.
     
  9. Scytheandsickle
    OP

    Member Scytheandsickle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, and One more thing, I know Download Play doesn't work on most of the roms, but is it able to do multicard play like trading on Diamond or Pearl.
     
  10. Pigwooly

    Member Pigwooly GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States
    If download play, DS/Wii connectivity, or being able to play the new Worms game without patching anything are important to you get a Cyclo DS Evolution. If you don't care about any of those things, save a couple bucks and get an R4.
     
  11. hollabackitsobi

    Member hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    R4 has 100% download play, dude. I'd probably get an Evo anyway, even though the R4 is GREAT and I highly recommend it, I'm more interested in the MicroSDHC format than anything else. If it wasn't for that, R4 would be the winner in my eyes.
     
  12. Scytheandsickle
    OP

    Member Scytheandsickle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not according to this review.
     
  13. hollabackitsobi

    Member hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, alright dude. Check the dates before making yourself look dumb.
     
  14. Scytheandsickle
    OP

    Member Scytheandsickle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just care about Multicard play on D/P.
     
  15. Zombie_Mario

    Member Zombie_Mario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Country:
    United States
    Then stick with the R4.
     
  16. Scytheandsickle
    OP

    Member Scytheandsickle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you.
    Also, is it possible for an R4 to brick? and will the DS Browser Rom work without the expansion pak?
     
  17. hollabackitsobi

    Member hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    No and yes, just download Rudolph's Tool from this site.
     
  18. Zombie_Mario

    Member Zombie_Mario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Country:
    United States
    The R4 doesn't require flashing of any kind. It's a simple drag-and-drop feature.

    The Official DS Browser requires the RAM expansion in the Slot-2 that can be substituted with the EZ Flash V 3-in-1. They're are homebrew browsers that can bypass this issue but it's not as fast as the original and shows text only.
     
  19. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    get the R4

    1 yes

    2 correct
     
  20. Scytheandsickle
    OP

    Member Scytheandsickle GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So if I download Rudolph's tool I don't need the Expansion Pack or a EZ-Flash V?
     

Share This Page