I'm stupid; I don't understand how to update to AKAIO 1.5

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by namtap, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. namtap
    OP

    Newcomer namtap Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I've had AKAIO 1.4.1 for a while now, easy enough to set up. But I want to change to the latest version, and I don't understand how. I've done the Wi-fi update for the loaders, but that doesn't seem to change what version it's running. Obviously if I change the whole _aio folder, I'll lose all my saves and such. So what exactly is it that I'm supposed to do? It doesn't seem to explain that on the wiki page; it just says how to do a fresh install. I don't want to lose all my saves.
     
  2. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    your saves are on the micro sd not in the aio folder.

    you just download it and put the new aio and other stuff there and down
     
  3. omgpwn666

    Member omgpwn666 Guy gamer and proud!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
  4. TheDarkSeed

    Member TheDarkSeed I'm a pretentious sack of shit

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Carson
    Country:
    United States
    And if you're still worried you might make a stupid move, then make a new folder on your computer and put all your saves there.

    I started doing that when I was messing around with unstable homebrew and my card started corrupting.
     
  5. namtap
    OP

    Newcomer namtap Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    When I replace the _aio folder with the new one, though, I lose all my saves. So they must be in there somewhere.
     
  6. namtap
    OP

    Newcomer namtap Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Well, okay, where are my saves located?
     
  7. iFish

    Member iFish Slower than a 90s modem

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,222
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Country:
    Canada
    same place as your roms

    you dont need to format your card i didnt
     
  8. omgpwn666

    Member omgpwn666 Guy gamer and proud!

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2,535
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    No,your saves are in the root of the card along with your DS games. When you get the new Akaio hit Start and hit System Options and hit the top right button until you get to File System Settings and change Save Ext. into .nds.sav
     
  9. emigre

    Member emigre Has complex motives

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7,916
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you go into teh system options and change the sav e selection from .sav to nds.sav

    Does nobody read the bloody changelog?
     
  10. namtap
    OP

    Newcomer namtap Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry to spoil your 'being an ass' parade, but I did read through the readme and changelog, and neither said anything about that. I just even opened both and Cmd+F'd them to make sure I hadn't overlooked them. I didn't.

    But thanks to the person above you, in any case.
     
  11. Tokiopop

    Member Tokiopop Caffeine fiend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Never mind.

    Make sure you replace the loaders too.
     
  12. bach3609

    Member bach3609 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    Loading................
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Heh, what exactly happened to your saves? Anyways just reformat, basically that fixes all micro sd problems.
     
  13. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/index.php?tit...AIO#Quick_Guide

    Code:
    [edit] Quick Guide
    1.Format the microSD with the Panasonic formatter. 
    2.Download the current version of AKAIO 
    3.Unzip the file and put the _aio* folder and akmenu4.nds at the Root (base) of your microSD card 
    4.Insert the microSD card firmly in a non-spring loaded (new shell) ak2.1 and ak2i. If your microSD slot is spring loaded make sure it "clicks." 
    5.Insert the Acekard firmly into your NDS, again make sure it clicks. 
    6.Boot up the NDS, select the Acekard from the firmware Slot-1 selection box, and enjoy 
    *Please note that the _aio folder is hidden by default in the globalsettings.ini, do not place homebrew or roms in this folder you will not be able to access them. You can however set the GUI to display all hidden files and folders. The recommended method is to place your files into folders in Root. Never place a file you want to access in the _aio folder.
    -another world
     
  14. Smiths

    Member Smiths AKAIO Person of Interest

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    The land of Dairy Queen
    Country:
    United States
    you're retarded
     

Share This Page