I'm on 3.1u and would like to upgrade to 3.2u

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by pantoufle2298, Nov 26, 2008.

  1. pantoufle2298
    OP

    Newcomer pantoufle2298 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Any insights would be greatly appreciated! [​IMG]

    Thanks in advance!
     


  2. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    simply look through the "forum" in this section and you will find how to.. [​IMG]
     
  3. pika9323

    Member pika9323 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    408
    Country:
    Germany
    You can use a Game to upgrade.

    Or use the Cios Downgrader or Any Region Changer to get to 3.2
     
  4. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yep [​IMG] if you have HBC which you should do, just download the apps, they are available all over this "section"
     
  5. pantoufle2298
    OP

    Newcomer pantoufle2298 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Excellent!! Thanks guys!
     
  6. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    once you've done that, and your on 3.2 which is "considered" the best "safest" firmware, which it is!
    install starfall, and install all patches except the health replace with back menu. i didn't remove BGM as it's boring

    Starfall [​IMG]
    Features

    * Region free GC games with video mode patch
    * Region free Wii games
    * Region free channels
    * No mainmenu BGM
    * Start rescue-menu when Y is held on 1st GC controller
    * Remove rescue-menu diagnostic disc check
    * Replace healthwarning with backmenu
     
  7. gundalf

    Member gundalf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Spain
    - Replace healthwarning with backmenu

    What is that? Dont understand.
     
  8. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    "OMG" cant you figure it out, your back menu of your wii yeah....soon as you boot up your wii, you wont be prompted with the health disclaimer, it will boot direct into the system,
    if you install it and one day you feel daft enough to install untrusted wads and end up with a banner brick, it will "Cause serious problems" as it's choking to a halt before it gets into boot. (that's why you should always keep the health screen on!)
     
  9. fiveighteen

    Member fiveighteen High Hopes and Low Expectations

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Country:
    United States
    I'm on 3.2U, have the "Replace healthwarning with backmenu" on on Starfall, and still install wads with no problems.

    Even if they're "bad" wads and you get a banner brick, couldn't you use the "Start rescue-menu when Y is held on 1st GC controller" to load a disc with Wad Manager 1.3 and delete the wads?

    Or just know what you're installing before you do it. I hate the healthwarning screen.
     
  10. gundalf

    Member gundalf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Spain
    As far i know is the Healthwarning the time in there the Channels get loaded by the System.
    So what is an "backmenu", just an black screen?
     
  11. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Backmenu is the scene displayed when you go back to menu from any title... first full black, then channels fading in and out... that scene is the backmenu
     
  12. madtamski

    Member madtamski GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So, is what DJD said true?

    If you have the "Replace healthwarning with backmenu" option switched on and you suffer from a banner brick then you're screwed?

    ...and no I don't want to try it to find out! [​IMG]
     
  13. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    There is the recovery menu possibility so you don't get screwed 100%
     
  14. madtamski

    Member madtamski GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, so even if I have all options enabled and I banner-brick, then I can still Hit 'Y' on the Gamecube contoller and boot from my original Zelda boot disk, run the save hack, wad manager and remove the offending wad no problem?

    I like the "Replace healthwarning with backmenu" option, so I would like to leave it on.

    *edit* I've just realised I've asked the exact same question as Summersett.

    Can someone confirm either way?
     
  15. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    having the health screen removed with backmenu, makes the nand choke, so you probably cant recover as easily as you could if you didn't have it on.... it's brilliant having it installed if you aren't dealing with "wads you don't trust" etc etc, better safe than sorry, having the health screen delays the boot process, therefore the nand wont choke immediately and will easily boot a game or wadmanager etc.

    Also many people who have "patched the health menu" get a immediate BLANK SCREEN, so unsure if you can boot zelda or whatever....
    That's the reason not to have it on!
     
  16. madtamski

    Member madtamski GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've already tested that I can boot TP with the health menu disabled and ran wad manager no problem.

    Are there any examples in this forum where it has caused a problem?

    I used the site's (crappy) search facility, but couldn't find posts/threads confirming what you say.

    Thanks.
     
  17. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Well of course it should boot if you insert the disc before powering the wii on... but you'll notice it will boot after a bit of time the channels are displayed... even there is time to peek a banner of a channel...

    The fact with the backmenu patch is, if your wii is bricked and it freezes or pukes out an error before channels get displayed then the disc also will not boot... problem is minor... you can boot into recovery mode and boot from there... It could be annoying for those without recovery menu facilities...
     
  18. BIG MOE

    Member BIG MOE ๔*๖ LORD BIG MOE ™

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Location:
    Wiiland Hills
    Country:
    Syria
    it is safer to run 3.2 with starfall so you can take advantage of the recovery menu [​IMG]
     
  19. madtamski

    Member madtamski GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmmm...ok thanks for the explanation guys.

    Looks like I'll enable the health menu again.

    Cheers!
     
  20. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yeah wiicrazy is right, personally i'd keep it on, you always have the chance to boot your wad manager or zelda etc, but it's "easier" if you don't patch the health menu, in some cases the discs wont boot even in recovery...
     

Share This Page