I'm having trouble with playing backups

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by ganon45, Jun 14, 2011.

Jun 14, 2011
  1. ganon45
    OP

    Newcomer ganon45 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, this is my first time posting on these forums and I am having trouble loading back ups with Soft Chip through the Homebrew Channel. When it first started up it showed some error stating that I didn't have an IOS249 present, so I selected to run the program with IOS236 and it loaded with no problem. After that I tried to load my backup disk and got this error: exception error: Ioct1 error (DI_ReadID).

    From what I've read, I think my Wii should be able to play backups from dvd -rs, I typed my serial number(It starts with LU66) into that Wii drive site and it says: There is a 100% chance the chipset is Combined GC2-D3 with no drive chip. To my understanding, the Wii hasn't been sent in for repairs (it's my siblings) and was purchased several years back.

    I've enabled the trucha bug> followed the Wanin and Hermes' cIOS guide and placed those files on the sd root dir (along with cMIOS-v4 Wiigator) and installed them through MMM Wad Manager>then installed Soft Chip


    I was wondering if I was missing something? Do I need to do a custom install of the cIOS 249 to enable Soft Chip to work correctly? Any help would be appreciated
     
  2. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,912
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Skip the slot 250 stuff for now, NeoGamma is not using that anyways. At all times, there's only 1 IOS or cIOS running, all others don't matter then.

    I also recommend to use the latest NeoGamma, at least for testing until it works. It finally has proper read error codes...

    http://gbatemp.net/t219243-neogamma-r9-beta-test
    Read the mini FAQ, and just skip the cMIOS and gamecube parts.
     
  4. ganon45
    OP

    Newcomer ganon45 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the quick response, I've been trying to get my SoftMod up and running for the past few days now. I'll try these solutions out and let you guys know the results.
     
  5. ganon45
    OP

    Newcomer ganon45 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    It's working for me now. Thank you guys, I've been tirelessly trying to figure out what was wrong and finally I've got things up and running. Thank you for the help
     

Share This Page