I'm going to import a 3DS and have a question.

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by auron20, Mar 17, 2011.

Mar 17, 2011
  1. auron20
    OP

    Newcomer auron20 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Spain
    Hi, I'm going to import a japanese 3DS and I want to know if a eur dsi adapter works fine in a jap 3DS.
     
  2. Xuphor

    Banned Xuphor I have lied to all of you. I am deeply sorry.

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,681
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Nevermind, I made a stupid mistake.
     
  3. kthnxshwn

    Banned kthnxshwn Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    909
    Country:
    United States
    It's take longer for it to get to where you live and cost more than to wait, 5 days, wouldn't it?
     
  4. boktor666

    Member boktor666 Gbatemp's official Solar Boy™ Is Back!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    805
    Location:
    Holland, somewhere :D
    Country:
    Netherlands
    imoporting from....... japan? I wouldnt if I were you. I don't really know about the charger, but the fact is that it Might be region locked. IF your still going to import, you should always check the adaptor specs [​IMG]
     
  5. auron20
    OP

    Newcomer auron20 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Spain
    That's the problem, I don't know if a power adaptor pal for dsi works on a jap 3DS, but well I have a japanese wii and it works fine with the pal wii power adaptor.
     
  6. mikehammerX9

    Member mikehammerX9 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Greece
  7. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    fixed

    also, a eur charger will work fine (same handheld, diff system menu installed) but why the hell bother? there is like 8 days until you can buy a european console which will accept locally bought games, be in your native language and cost a crap-load less
     
  8. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    The Japanese charger will NOT work with a european wall socket... but a european charger WILL work with a Japanese 3DS.



    Also as stated... 3DS is region locked so you couldn't play european games on it which would be a bit of a pain in the ass.
     
  9. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,811
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Why not just wait for it to be released? It's going to be released in a few days and you can't even use other region games on it, so you will have to always be importing Japanese games, which isn't cheap. It would be cheaper just to wait and buy it when it comes out.
     
  10. cbutters

    Newcomer cbutters Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Don't do it.... I imported a DSi from japan, and being that I can't read japanese, I could play games ok, but the nintendo store and stuff was really hard to navigate. flashcart was fine and in english, but I was bothered by it so much I eventually sold it and bought a US DSi.... So don't waste your money, launch date is almost here anyways. (And no..... unless someone finds a way to hack the firmware (unlikely any time soon) there will be no way to translate the menu items to english) It never happened for the DSi and most likely won't happen on the 3DS either, unless we get some really good hackers who take an interest. (unlikely)
     
  11. Ikki

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    Why not to wait a few days and import it from USA? Cheaper and more understandable games.
     
  12. Ssx9

    Member Ssx9 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    Brazil
    Probably due to region locking.
     
  13. Donald Serrot

    Member Donald Serrot GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    366
    Country:
    United States
    Some things people keep forgetting to think with their cries of "WHYYY WOULD YOU DO THAAAAT?!?!?"
    Why do you want a system that won't be compatible with games from your region? Is it so that you can still import games from Japan and be able to play them? Mad scientist experiments with compatibility? Just didn't think about that while region locking thing?
     

Share This Page