I'm an old man - no time to search - help with burning XGD3 discs

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by mrwienerdog, Feb 4, 2012.

  1. mrwienerdog
    OP

    Member mrwienerdog GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    Damn kids make it so I don't have a ton of time to search for a faq.

    Got myself a lite-on IHAS burner, but need a FAQ (or some tips) on how to burn these games.

    Could you clever bitches help a brother (grandpa) out?

    Thanks In Advance (I think you kids say TIA)....
     


  2. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Have you heard of xbox-scene.com?
    tutorial
     
  3. Hells Malice

    Member Hells Malice Are you a bully?

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5,651
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeeeah come in here and call everyone kids.
    You're gonna get help now.
     
    2 people like this.
  4. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,887
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Make sure it's a iHAS B model.

    Tut: >>here
     
  5. kthnxshwn

    Banned kthnxshwn Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    909
    Country:
    United States
    He's...getting help right now.
     
  6. mrwienerdog
    OP

    Member mrwienerdog GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh shit..... Sorry 'bout calling you kids, I didn't mean any offence. I am seriously old enough to be dad to most people that come here. I wasn't trying to be a dick, just trying to use a little humour. Please don't take offence.

    On a separate note.... Thanks for all of the help, you whippersnappers.

    EDIT: Just re read my OP. I meant that MY damn kids make it so I don't have time to look for a FAQ.

    In other words, I didn't want you guys to respond by saying, "Why don't you just search for a tutorial?"

    Sorry for the mixup.

    EDIT II: I did notice that I called you all "Clever Bitches" though. Hope you understand the reverence that is implied within the sarcasm.
     
  7. kthnxshwn

    Banned kthnxshwn Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    909
    Country:
    United States
    You don't have to apologize to these children.
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Majorami

    Banned Majorami Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    Hacking Faqs are public collaborations. Theres no one thread for everything you need to know on everything because theres no one person that can document, submit, and group everything you need to know on everything. And its impractical to expect any single person or people to go back and edit their posts to include new or updated information, when there are new hacks and tricks released many times in spans of 5 or more years. Complaining that "kids" make it hard is an insult to anyone who bothered to submit such valuable information in the 1st place.

    Course how do we know you're old? Maybe you're a 13 year old who's too lazy to use Google. On the behalf of everyone here, we demand you to post a picture of your social security card and birth certificate.
     
  9. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,719
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    ...welcome to the age of Wiki's?
     
  10. Majorami
    This message by Majorami has been removed from public view by a moderator, Dec 6, 2016.
    Feb 5, 2012
  11. Majorami
    This message by Majorami has been removed from public view by a moderator, Dec 6, 2016.
    Feb 5, 2012
  12. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,887
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If OP combines mine and Jimmy's tutorials, it should help him out.
     
  13. mrwienerdog
    OP

    Member mrwienerdog GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    I think you missed my edit.... I was mentioning that MY kids make it so I don't have time to search out FAQs, and I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.

    And a ton of thanks to the two guys above that gave me the links, it was exactly what I needed.
     
  14. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,887
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You're welcome.

    Be sure to burn them on 2.4x with Verbatim media.
     
  15. mrwienerdog
    OP

    Member mrwienerdog GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    Apparently the dude that I bought the drive off of has already installed burnermax fw. However, when I go to burn a disk, I am prompted with the dialog box "this file's too big, do you want to truncate/overburn", that I have read about. I also read that if you get this popup, you have not installed the fw properly. However, I'm not a hundred per cent sure where to start. I go into the eeprom utitilty, and this is what is listed (for the firmware, etc of my drive):

    F:ATAPI iHAS124 B ALOS 2011/08/11 10:09

    Where do I go?
     
  16. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,887
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It's already on the ALOS firmware.
    You'll need to flash the LT max on it with Flash utility.
     
  17. mrwienerdog
    OP

    Member mrwienerdog GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    Okay....So I got all things up and running, tried burning Metal Gear HD...... I get a message saying that the disk is not supported. I have set the layer break to calculate optimal.

    What could the issue be now?
     
  18. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    The issue probably is that you didn't use Verbatim DVD+R DL disks. You can fiddle around with the firmware, etc. to make other brands work, but I would recommend to just use Verbatims.

    (This whole burning-stuff made me switch to an ODDE anyways, no patience and time for this.)
     
  19. mrwienerdog
    OP

    Member mrwienerdog GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    Shitty thing is, I did use verbatim..... Any other ideas what I need to do?
     
  20. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Are you 100% positive your flash of the drive went well? If not, I know personally, I would do it again. Did you also check the disc info on IMGburn to see if it matches up with the tutorial I posted for you? I bet it does match up, but it's worth a look because of the situation.

    Quote from step 6 of the tutorial,
    "Fire up EEPROM Utility, make sure you select the correct burner if you own more than one, then click on the Options tab. Clear the OPC history and power cycle the drive (just reboot your PC) if you've used other settings previously that haven't worked for you, then enable the following options:​


    **Smart Burn
    **Hyper Tuning​


    Do NOT enable Over Speed Writing or Online Hyper Tuning.

    This only needs to be done once, then you can burn Verbatim MKM-003-00 discs at 4X with OPC off and you should find that the results are excellent. These settings may also improve burn quality with other media so experiment with them and see how it goes."​
     
  21. mrwienerdog
    OP

    Member mrwienerdog GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for sticking with me @jimmyemunoz.... So yeah... Two burns...two coasters. So I relfashed the drive. My understanding is that if I did it correctly: A) I would not get the truncate/overburn option (which I don't), and B) imgBurn would say that the free space on my disk is 8,738,897,920 bytes (which it is)... I'm going to try one more burn see if it works after flashing again.
     
  22. mocalacace

    Member mocalacace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    United States
    If the drive is flashed correctly then it wont give you the truncate option, or atleast mine doesn't.
     

Share This Page