Hacking I'm A Noob Who Needs Help With His Acekard 2i! With Updating T

dislon

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So yeah, I have a few questions, some of which (if not all) are clearly indicative of someone who has zero familiarity of flash cards and the scene in general. I've looked for answers all over the place, but have had zero luck for a variety of reasons. Mostly because I have no idea what everyone is talking about half the time... it's as simple as that, so apologizes for being a dumbass. Hey, at least I owe to it!

Anyhow, if someone, ANYONE, could just humor me, I would be eternally grateful! Alright, here goes:

1. Just got a Acekard 2i from GameByGame, one of the affiliates listed on this very site. Right off the back, there might be a problem; my cart does not have a raised center like it's shown in the GBAtemp's review...

http://gbatemp.net/images/reviews/ak2i/ak2i_6.jpg

... Did I get a bootleg? Or are they manufactured differently these days? I figured that GameByGame is a trusted source... the packaging itself seems totally legit. Well, for something like this.

Perhaps it needs to be pointed out that mine is spring-loaded. I get the sense that the first run was not? Also, I have NO idea how to tell if my card is a 44 or 81. How can I find out? It's actually driving me nuts!

2. Anyway, I chose to buy from GameByGame because I somehow assumed that their Acekards would be pre-patched for the 1.4 firmware on the DSi (in fact, I could have sworn it was stated on the site, hence why I went with them). But I was wrong it would seem.

After trying both the official version of the software from the Acekard site, 1.4, and trying the new AKAIO 1.5 OS, and each time I got a message: "An error has occurred. Press and hold the Power Button to..." perhaps most of you know the rest. Each time I also fired the card up in my DS Lite, and each time it worked. So obviously, the card's firmware needs to be updated, right?