IE freeze when displaying portal page

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by Mbmax, Jan 1, 2010.

Jan 1, 2010
  1. Mbmax
    OP

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Hi there.
    Since a few days i'm experiencing freeze problem with the portal under IE 7 and firefox 3.5.5 (with adblock plus disabled).
    I'm wondering if the "Sponsored Links" box (when you are not logged) on top left is not guilty in this story ?

    Someone else with the same freezing bug ?
     


  2. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    no problems here

    using FF (3.5.6) and Chrome (I never use IE [​IMG])
     
  3. Mbmax
    OP

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Have you tried logged off ? The sponsored links box appear only if you are logged off. [​IMG]
     
  4. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yep, just tried it

    No problems here (unless you mean that very short freeze when it's loading the ads?)
     
  5. Mbmax
    OP

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Sure ! That's it !
    But the very short freeze takes about 45 seconds or sometimes more under IE !!!
     
  6. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
  7. Olyfes

    Newcomer Olyfes Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yup it hang's a long time , i had google chrome on my PC and there is the same problem .On firefox you doesn't have that problem ..
     
  8. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep. Same thing happened to me.

    Not anymore.
     
  9. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    use firefox IE sux
     
  10. XWolf

    Member XWolf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or Opera, or Orca, or even Chrome!
     
  11. Mbmax
    OP

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yeah, i know IE sucks but it's the most used Internet browser in the world
    I hope Costello will check a little the code that display the sponsored links because it's probably good on firefox, opera or chrome but not on IE.
    I'm not the only one to have this issue as i can see.
     
  12. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    that's enough to make you use IE?get Firefox,you'll never regret it
     
  13. Mbmax
    OP

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I don't need any advice on what i should use. The fact is here we have a problem on IE.
    When i have a computer that doesn't start, i don't go to the shop buy another one, i repair it. It's my job.
    I just ask here the webmaster to check his code and repair it (if it's possible) so it works for all kind of browsers.
     
  14. Thoob

    Member Thoob LOLmonade.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Eh, no it's not. Firefox is. Even IE6, 7, and 8 put together have less users than Firefox. Source.
     
  15. Mbmax
    OP

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yeah, statistics are awesome. [​IMG]

    But i think you don't get the point here, it's not a thread to say i WANT to use IE to display GBAtemp and nothing else, but my IE can't display GBAtemp properly because of sponsored links.
    I'm pretty sure it's a small bug in the webmaster code that he will found quickly if he check it. [​IMG]

    Thanks to him if he read this post.
     
  16. Law

    Member Law rip ninjacat that zarcon made me

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,132
    Location:
    ‭jerkland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's not the "Sponsored Links" box, it's the green hyperlink advert thingymajigs.

    [​IMG]

    As somebody pointed out on page one, it freezes when trying to load those (tbh they should probably be removed, I don't mind boxes with links in but when they start to infiltrate actual content it gets annoying).
     
  17. Thoob

    Member Thoob LOLmonade.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But why do you use IE! It's a piece of absolute crap! Firefox, Chrome, etc., are better in EVERY SINGLE WAY! You can even get an IE theme for Firefox if that makes you feel better.
     
  18. Mbmax
    OP

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Seems that you don't get the point. I'm not here to complain i can't use IE because i'm a fan of this shit, i'm just here to report a bug that probably most of internet users got when they came to portal without be logged in. [​IMG]
     
  19. megabug7

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Websites should work properly on ALL browsers - not just selected ones. A lot of people still use IE, and as such webmasters should ensure pages load properly for those too.

    Sick and tired of people shouting 'to switch browser' when it's usually the website's neglectful coding thats at fault.
     
  20. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Actually, I sometimes use IE because of InPrivate Browsing.

    I've yet to find a Firefox add-on that allows me to do the same thing.
     

Share This Page