Identifying Wii ModChip

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ganons, May 29, 2008.

May 29, 2008

Identifying Wii ModChip by ganons at 1:32 PM (3,726 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. ganons
    OP

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok my friend found a guy selling a Wii for £190 with wiikey genuine but i think the price is too cheap. It might have a crap chip like those programmable ones. So is there a way I can find out it is actually a wiikey? I mean say if I take a config disc will any chip boot it? Or will an update disc help? What is the best method to identify this as he is not willing to open up the console.

    Thanks
     


  2. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,497
    Country:
    Netherlands
    burn mario galaxy and see if it works, if it gives error 001 then you know its not a wiikey but some old crap.

    you could also try burning the wiikey firmware update and if it completes you know its a real wiikey.
     
  3. barcode1999

    Newcomer barcode1999 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    don't forget though, 001 error games can be patched very easily now to work on pretty much any chip so consider the purchase anyways. Mine's not a genuine chip and works fine with everything i throw at it as long as its patched.
     
  4. apcarr

    Member apcarr GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Manchester,England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The only proper way is to open the Wii,can't see why that would be a problem as its obviously already been opened,and if it is 1 of those so called "crap" chips don't worry to much as they can be programed with YAOSM 3.2 which is virtually the same as WiiKey 1.9s infact I have both and the performance is identical!
     
  5. mattlouf

    Member mattlouf GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    You're right, some chip are VERY cheap (ie PIC12F683 is about 3 euros) and the programm is .... free over the net.

    BUT if you use YAOSM, I can tell you : this is FAR AWAY to be CRAP !!

    YAOSM FTW !!!
     
  6. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    is yaosm applicable to all chip?
     
  7. Hit

    Member Hit GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Wiikey is the worst chip, those programmable ones are better
     
  8. mattlouf

    Member mattlouf GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States
    Most commun chips are
    PIC:
    12F629
    12F675
    12F635
    12F683
    16F627
    16F628
    16F630
    16F636
    16F648
    16F684

    and some other I don't actually remember
     
  9. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    i dont know what chip i have can i use yaosm going to be able to be programed to it?
     
  10. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    These are the most common Wiikey clones:

    [​IMG]
    Buy, and see. If it's some crap just patch 001. error games or tell that person you're not that stupid. Or just invest on other console. That have better chip. For example, D2CKey or WASABI.
     
  11. mattlouf

    Member mattlouf GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    Earth
    Country:
    United States

    If you have a chip (PIC 12Fxxxx) and want to have YAOSM on it, you'll need a chip programmer.
    You can buy it or make it :
    [​IMG]

    Have a look here for more details:
    http://wiinewz.com/forums/yaosm/66819-yaosm-scratch.html
     
  12. ganons
    OP

    Member ganons GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,944
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok thanks for the answer guys. i guess best solution prolly to take mario galaxy and an update disc
     
  13. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    woooooooooohooooooooooooo!

    a lot of complications!

    im gonna cross that off my list to block 001 errors

    (cant patch games,)
     
  14. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why?
     
  15. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    i dont burn?

    and i dont have enough money to buy all games that has this problem so i have to save for each one

    i'm getting SMG next month if all goes well
     
  16. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Oh! Sorry! [​IMG]
    So do you have an chip in your wii or not?
     
  17. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    yeah but i dont know what it is and i cant open the wii [​IMG]
     
  18. sosodef

    Member sosodef GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Country:
    United States

    So we bitch and cry because we can't take a screw driver and open the Wii to look, I hate bitchers and criers..

    "I don't know what chip I have... boo hoo"

    Lazy Ass!

    [​IMG]
     
  19. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    and i hate someone who thinks an emulator will brick a wii

    i cant open the wii cause i dont want to
     
  20. Loco023

    Newcomer Loco023 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Yugoslavia
    Same here [​IMG] coz one screw is demaged probably by person who was installing modchip, i patch games with error 001 but i would like to know what chip is in.
     

Share This Page