I would like to turn my laptop into a router for ds wifi

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Z-09, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. Z-09
    OP

    Newcomer Z-09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    hello everyone. i honestly had no idea where to put this. since it is mainly about my computer, i thought it would be best to put it here. also, i tried to search forums for help, but i can't find anyone with the same laptop i have.

    ok with that aside, i would like to turn my MSI S6000 laptop

    http://www.officedepot.com/a/products/5415...-Computer-With/

    into a wireless router so i can play my ds games on it. unfortunately i ran into several problems. i can't find one for free that supports my laptop and can use a WEP encryption to play ds wifi games on. i tried programs like connectify but they are either for only WPA encryption or my they are not compatible with my laptop. does anyone know of such a software that could be the answer? again, i have no spare cash on me and i would like to find one for free. if anyone can at least recommend something that can work with my laptop, i would greatly appreciate it. thank you for taking the time to read this and have a good day

    **if it helps, my laptop is an MSI S6000 with Windows 7 (64 bit) pre-installed. the link above provides more details of my laptop.
     
  2. bdr9

    Member bdr9 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    558
    Country:
    United States
    The link isn't working for me. It looks like you didn't copy the entire link.
     
  3. waffle1995

    Member waffle1995 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    cnet.com.has many trusted software
     
  4. Z-09
    OP

    Newcomer Z-09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    lol sorry about that. i have fixed the link.

    as for cnet.com, i know they have trusted software. i just can't find what i'm looking for :/. (and i'm not lazy. i've checked [​IMG])
     
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried setting the WiFi up as an access point and using ICS (internet connection sharing) to share the internet from ethernet? That's pretty much all the ex-official Nintendo WiFi dongle did, except for that crappy lil software it shipped with.
     
  6. Z-09
    OP

    Newcomer Z-09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    sorry for the late response.

    i'm sorry, i don't understand what you mean Originality. could you please explain?

    if you mean by turning the connectify mode to wep, it is only wpa. also i tried my ds settings for "search for access point", but i only get grey locks saying i can't connect to them. i don't know what internet connection sharing is tbh.

    ***also i forgot to mention, my laptop in my dorm is connected to the school's internet network by using an LAN cord. so i can't do anything to the school's internet to fix it to where i can make it compatible with my ds. it is owned by the university (sorry if i'm explaining the obvious. i talked to one person on another site about this and he clearly didn't understand what i meant by "the SCHOOL'S network". he tried to tell me to trace ip and adjust the settings, which i can't do >.>).nothing here is wireless. this cord is sadly the only way i have internet -_-
     
  7. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you get your internet through ethernet, you can go to the network settings for your ethernet adaptor, go to the sharing tab, and enable ICS. That will allow users connected via WiFi to share the laptop's internet from the ethernet.

    All that's left is to turn the WiFi into an Access Point (meaning it will create a WiFi network in whatever security you desire (WEP) for other devices to connect to). I don't know specifically how to set that up for laptops as they tend to use their own version of a WiFi agent instead of Windows Zero.

    If you cannot configure your WiFi card to create an AP, you can buy a USB dongle and it will certainly have a means to be turned into an AP.
     
  8. Z-09
    OP

    Newcomer Z-09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    ok. i just went through a LOT of time trying to get ad-hoc to work. i called and got help from nintendo wifi, and they told me ad-hoc is not compatible with pokemon white or metroid prime hunters (the only wifi games i play).

    is ad-hoc the same thing as ICS?
     
  9. Marlonguppy

    Member Marlonguppy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
                                  
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No.
    First you must create a AD Hoc network, then you follow http://www.windowsreference.com/windows-vi...setup-in-vista/ (it is for vista, but works also exactly the same for 7 .
    Edit: even more detail: http://lifehacker.com/#!5369381/turn-y...ireless-hotspot
     
  10. xakota

    Member xakota GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
  11. Z-09
    OP

    Newcomer Z-09 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    thanks marlongpuppy. would ics possibly connect with my ds? i tried just the ad-hoc the the guy for nintendo wifi said it wasn't compatible with my games. i'm trying to play my new white version on my ds lite on wifi.

    @xakota: thanks. if nothing works out, i'll try to save up money for this
     
  12. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,425
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    the DS doesn't work in Ad Hoc.
    You need to convert your wifi ad hoc card into an Access Point card.

    Either your card's firmware officially allows the swap from Ad Hoc to Access Point anytime you want, either you have to use another firmware compatible with your card or use another Wifi Card.
    You can use PCMCIA wifi card (I did it myself using Hercule's Wifi card which also exist in PCMCIA card) or you can use an USB dongle acting as an Access Point.


    I don't know about your computer, but there are some tutorials explaining how to convert a Ralink RT 2500 card into access point :
    http://gbatemp.net/t28307-tranform-your-rt...or-nintendowifi
    http://gbatemp.net/t223663-tutorial-making...s-psp?&st=0

    You could try these firmware/software and see if it works.
     

Share This Page