[I wish] PS3 to allow PC games to run on it

Discussion in 'General Gaming Discussion' started by dice, Oct 27, 2007.

Oct 27, 2007
  1. dice
    OP

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Source: DigitalSpy
     


  2. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    I find this one extremely hard to believe. Nothing but a pipe dream, in my opinion.
     
  3. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Eh I say it can happen. I think he's lying about the framerates though. And I seriously doubt it will be able to handle crysis.
     
  4. paul1991

    Banned paul1991 Banned

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    680
    Country:
    United States
    Lame.
    Is the PS3 anything more than a glorified computer?
     
  5. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Err... Am I not reading this correct, but all I see is the company using the PS3 as a monitor and the PC do all the actual work.
     
  6. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    I can say the same about the Xbox... Any Console is a PC without that much RAM in a small package.
     
  7. gigermunit

    Member gigermunit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    Orlando
    Country:
    United States
    Why not just play pc games via cedega or wine on ps3 liux?
     
  8. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Well for one there's no PS3 Linux. YellowDogLinux is a distro that can work on the PS3 like all Linux Distros. And the reason why is because the PS3 only has 256MB of RAM available to Linux therefore it can't run anything strong. Not to mention the PS3 doesn't have access to the GPU while in Linux for obvious reasons.
     
  9. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Oh please. Why not just do this with a VNC app? What would be the difference?

    Also I saw this pic on their website, it implies the Wii can do this "running Linux." [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  10. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    You can not play PC Games on the DS. Period... Your bullshitting.
     
  11. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    I am not. Ever heard of homebrew like Win2DS? The apps create an image of a computer's desktop on your DS. You can move the mouse around with the stylus and such. Start up a game, and you've got a PC game on your DS. [​IMG] The PC game is not actually running on the DS, it is running on the PC and being streamed to the DS, all while the DS is being used as an input device.

    This is based on the same principles as the above "PC games on the PS3" except you're using the DS as a monitor and not the PS3.

    Although the image quality on the DS would be bad due to compression to make it fit into that 2 mbit wifi connection, it's definately doable.
     
  12. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Why would anyone want to play on the DS's less than 3 inch screen anyway?
     
  13. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    I never said that it was practical. I was just disproving your statement about my "bullshitting."

    I still don't see why this streammygame service is any better than VNC.

    Why the hostility anyway? Do you not like the DS? [​IMG]
     
  14. cenotaph

    Member cenotaph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    United States
    It would be very, very hard to emulate a full set of x86 hardware at decent performance with the PS3's architecture. Thing is, it's targeted at games and is very efficient at the kind of math operations you commonly perform in games, but not very good for general purpose computing (see PS3 Linux performance testing). I call bluff. Unless he's talking about old DOS/Win95 era games.
     
  15. cubin'

    Member cubin' GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,866
    Country:
    Australia
    That's what it seems like [​IMG]


    coolbho is right..this seems like nothing other than a glorified VNC app.
     
  16. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Not emulation. It's just using the PS3 as a monitor. The PC still does all the processing.
     
  17. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, the PC still does all the processing. As well as processing what I assume would be a rather high resolution stream to send to the PS3. Let's take games that already push our hardware and then create+stream high res video output them on the fly over a network! That way we can "play" PC games on our PS3s!

    Hey, here's a better idea. Just output your PC's image to a TV and "hook up" your PS3 controller to it! Or better yet, to hell with this whole line of thought and play your games on your PC. Yeah, because they are PC games. Makes sense to me I think.
     
  18. cenotaph

    Member cenotaph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    United States
    Great, so by sending my PC's visual output the way of a PS3 I get the benefit of having to:

    a) sit slumped in a couch (getting back pains)
    b) use a shitty output device - a TV (doesn't matter if it's an HD set which supports 1080p, still doesn't beat a good LCD monitor)
    c) use a shitty input device - a gamepad (let's not even discuss that one)
    d) have extra exhaust heat from the PS3 emitted into my living room
    e) saturate my network needlessly

    Yeah, that seems like a great idea. Ingenious.
     
  19. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    But, why not just play it on the PC then? And if you say because your PC can't handle the game, it just sounds like the PC is doing all the work anyway so how would it be better?
     
  20. cubin'

    Member cubin' GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,866
    Country:
    Australia
    You don't like sitting on couches? That's one of the reasons I like consoles...so relaxing
     

Share This Page