I want to make sure of this: GBA SP battery gone or not?

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by TStarboy, Oct 13, 2008.

  1. TStarboy
    OP

    Newcomer TStarboy Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    So my GBA SP, which I've had for about 5 years now, is acting very strangely. It doesn't charge, but the battery still holds a charge (its a red charge though). I have two chargers, one that came with my SP, and one that came with my DS. They both used to work with both my SP and my DS, but now they only work with my DS. Will buying a new battery fix the problem, or is there something a lot harder that I will have to do? I don't want to spend over $20 dollars to fix it, as I have a Color and a DS, so I will still be able to play the games, it will just be nicer for the portability of the SP.
     
  2. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
  3. dewback

    Member dewback GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    I'm assume that the DS is the orginal Phat one.
    you can take the battery out of the SP brake the tab on the battery and test it in the DS the battery is the same type but the DS is larger to just test.

    The battery for the SP should not cost too mutch over $6
     
  4. dewback

    Member dewback GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    Michigan
    Country:
    United States
    Good link there Linkiboy

    battery is only $4.99 from DX

    www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.13322
     
  5. TStarboy
    OP

    Newcomer TStarboy Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, my gameboy charges in the DS. This means that my charging circuitry in the SP is messed up now right? Any easy way to get it fixed by Nintendo or something, or will I have to transfer the battery to my DS to charge?
     

Share This Page