I wanna be a homebrewer

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by da_head, May 14, 2008.

May 14, 2008

I wanna be a homebrewer by da_head at 3:52 AM (2,267 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

1. da_head
    OP

Member da_head A dying dream..

Canada
    Hey guys, i've always been amazed by the work done by homebrewers, and appreciate their efforts. i have no experience in programming, but i was wondering if there was a way i could get into it? by studyin an hour or so a day (iunno by tutorials and stuff) is it realistic learning this way? may i remind you, i have NO programming experience. thoughts? thanks in advance.

2. DanTheManMS

Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

United States
    The best idea would be to learn C++ programming on the PC first, getting more and more experienced until you're ready to make the jump to the DS. At that point, I'd suggest the TONC tutorials, which assume you already have basic C++ knowledge but are regarded as some of the best tutorials out there. They're for the GBA, but there is very much in common between the GBA and DS so after that it wouldn't take too much effort to switch to DS, plus it's much easier to accurately test GBA code than DS code (emulators for GBA are usually accurate, whereas with the DS you'd mostly be testing on actual hardware most of the time).

3. juggernaut911

Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

United States
    1 hour a day isnt really possible to grasp it an learn it all... i did that with HTML for like a week and im good at it, except tables, but it is a much simpler language (HTML)

maybe, but it'll be difficult

4. dawn.wan

Member dawn.wan GBAtemp Fan

Canada
    lol.. it gonna be much harder than yous Basic HTML w/o tables.. IMO you should learn tables or atlease frames/iframes they will help you make those good looking webpages..

its programing kid, C++ is a not very hard language.. least we dont have to do this crap in asm