I tried booting a US backup with the Freeloader and it didn't work

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Shinigami Kiba, Mar 18, 2008.

  1. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    I'm not sure what's wrong.
    I got the US StarFox Assault backup and tried booting it on my WiiKey 1.9g, my PAL Wii wouldn't register it as a game so a guy on LL told me to get this Detal Freeloader thing.
    I got that and it freaked me out when I put it in my Wii because it messed up the screen and menu and everything when the system red it, I thought it bricked my Wii or installed some Wii virus or something lol.

    Anyway turns out that blur thing it does is normal, so I gave it another try earlier while my friend was over.
    So, after the Freeloader thing does its job I eject it and insert my burned copy of StarFox Assault, now it actually detects it as a GameCube game but when I click start the Wii just stays there frozen on a black screen, could this be because the Freeloader is burned at 4x and the US StarFox Assault at 2x?
     
  2. aardvarks

    Member aardvarks GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    245
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the new datel free loader that you used is for playing imported wii games not gamecube games. you need the free loader for gamecube, that wil play gamecube games, on the wii
     
  3. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If your Wii is chipped you don't really need freeloader to play imported GC games. Just burning them as a gcos disc should do the trick
     
  4. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Nope not at all.
    Burning speeds dont matter with the freeloader...
    I did burn the freeloader at 16x on a 4x disc (Year i know found out after i did the fast burn xD)

    Starfox Assualt is a gamecube game which DONT work with the "Wii" freeloader.

    Just use the GCOS multidisc utillity to gain almost 100% region free.

    And btw is your WiiKey set to region override on?
     
  5. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    Sorry, I could've sworn I put GCN US Backup in the topic title.
    And I guess my Wiikey isn't set to region free or something because the PAL animal crossing i downloaded works fine on my Wii, I'll have to download the Wiikey disc and see cause the guy I got my Wii from didn't give me his WiiKey disc.

    I'll give that GCOS thing a try too.

    thanks guys.
     
  6. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    AND if you have region override.
     
  7. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    guys, it seems I can't find the WiiKey settings disc or whatever anywhere online.
    I'm not sure if requesting a link to that is against the ToS here, if it is ignore this post, if not I'd appreciate a link to whatever the latest version is.
     
  8. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    psx-scene had a good collection of them.
    But they got hacked a few weeks ago.
     
  9. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    ok I got the WiiKey Config/base 1.3 disc, burned the PAL version to a DVD and the Wii immediately detects it as a GCN game, but when I click start it says an error occured and some crap about reading the Wii manual for more info.
    Now I'm at a complete loss and the readme that came with it isn't helpful in the least.
     
  10. chaseincats

    Member chaseincats GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    520
    Country:
    United States
    perhaps you need the 1.9g update in conjunction with the 1.3 setup disk at least thats what I did...
     
  11. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  12. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    The reason is thst Nintendo has blacklisted the 1.3 config disc.

    If you got a Gamecube controller then first boot into GCOS and then swap the dics to the 1.3 config disk. If region overide was on it would not give the error.

    If you dont got a Gamecube controller then search google for hexed 1.2 or 1.3 config disc.
    It would after boot ask for the WiiKey base disc.
    Insert the normal 1.3 Config disc and you be on.
     
  13. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    Thanks a bunch guys, I got the GCOS version and now everything works perfectly, my US Star Fox Assault boots up and plays no problem.
    I even set my drive speed to 3x instead of the 6x so the laser doesn't strain much.
     

Share This Page