i think my sd card might have a virus on it....

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by mikolajbogutski, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. mikolajbogutski
    OP

    Newcomer mikolajbogutski Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    it still isn't working when I put on new stuff btw I have an r4. I even tried putting my sd card in my friends r4 it didn't work so how do I fix it?

    and its not my r4 cuz my friends sd worked in my r4....so what should I do?
     
  2. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    Can you tell us what new stuff? What format was it in?

    Also, I doubt their is a virus on your R4.
     
  3. klown07

    Newcomer klown07 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    well, try formatting the car. Or maybe, somehow you didn't install the kernel right? I dunno.
     
  4. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    sweet... the first DS only virus! It makes R4's not work! Go Nintendo! Make those virus' to stop R4 users!

    ok, sorry, i had to.

    First, format your card... wipe it clean. Reload the firmware files, and try it again.

    If it's still not working, you have a bad card, and will have to get a new one.
     
  5. mikolajbogutski
    OP

    Newcomer mikolajbogutski Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    its FAT32

    and kernel, like the version right? I have 1.18 I had FFTA2 abd when I put new games on it the games where untitled then now it just says the loading screen forever... and what firmware file?
     
  6. Splych

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    and also what brand is the SD Card .

    I had a Kingston 2GB Made in Japan SD card that was fake and ended up messing up and not working while at the same time the R4 i had was fake too when i bought it at the same place .

    so yea what brand is it ?
     
  7. mikolajbogutski
    OP

    Newcomer mikolajbogutski Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Lexar 2gb. and my R4 is real not fake so yeah
     
  8. Dark^'^Knigh

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    Firstly, you haven't said whether this Lexar 2gb microsd has worked in your R4 before this current problem.

    I'm going to presume that it's a new SD and you have tried to load the 1.18 firmware & some games. As long as you are confident you have loaded the firmware and placed the .nds rom files on your sd correctly, then perhaps one of two things need to be done:
    1. Format the SD card (make sure you transfer all files off card to your PC first);
    2. SD card is incompatible / not suitable?

    Failing this, another thing you can perhaps try is to copy your frends SD card files onto your SD card. If it works, that would prove they you have done something wrong with the setup of firmware, etc.
     
  9. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    Did you extract the roms?
     
  10. mikolajbogutski
    OP

    Newcomer mikolajbogutski Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i have had the same sd card for a year or about that time using the same R4. i have done all of that but tomorrow i am trying to copy my friends to mine to see what is up with it so yeah. and if that doesnt work im buying a new one. =) and yeah i put on V1.18
     
  11. UnFallen

    Member UnFallen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    ^^LOLZLAND^^
    Country:
    United States
    I did everything you said now my car doesn't start HELP PLEASE!!!
     
  12. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you're an idiot. stop necro-posting stupid comments in old topics.
     
  13. tal32123

    Member tal32123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United States
    i don't know why my computer using avira free antivirus says moonshell.exe and autorun.inf are viruses for some reason
     
  14. TheDestroyer

    Member TheDestroyer GBAtemp's Official Keyblade Masterâ„¢

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    My Destroyed Village
    Country:
    United States
    If it is an .exe then it can a be a virus.. and theres no such things as moonshell.exe.. as far as i know..

    ON TOPIC: the SD card might be the culprit.. so try other like sandisk [​IMG]
     
  15. dragon574444

    Member dragon574444 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    287
    Country:
    United States
    I've had bad luck using my Lexar 1GB micro SD with my old R4. It ended dieing...

    Try to format the card and just make sure that you're got the firmware on correctly.
     
  16. ofish89

    Newcomer ofish89 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    yeah get a sandisk

    i got a 4 gig sd card ( sandisk ) with a card reader for 20 $ ( aus ) of ebay

    thanx
     

Share This Page