I think my mum made a hash of her wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by WeeBabyDoll, Nov 24, 2011.

Nov 24, 2011
  1. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Right, so last year I modded my mums wii, everything was working fine when I left, a few weeks later she phoned me and said she had a heap of error messages coming up (she did not take note of what they were - although I told her to do this if it happened) and she, in her own words 'deleted' the homebrew and Gamma channel....which she can't remember how she did. She has taken the wii for me to fix - I have switch it on and When I put a regular disc in, nothing changes etc on disc channel, can't even get the wii remote to callibrate with the wii. All the files are still on the card (best to my knowledge) please for the love of the wii (non pun intended) man, help me get this fixed. My little sister is getting a wii game that she loves for christmas and am terrified mums bricked the wii and it's irreprable.
     


  2. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    Well I hope you got priiloader and a NAND backup, else it can be tricky.
    You can start with trying to remod it from scratch using modmii.
     
  3. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    yeah if you used priiloader and made a nand backup your fine
    failing that go to cash convertors and get a Wii and no cables for £45

    always have a spare Wii just in case ^_^
     
  4. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    These are the files on the SD card -

    In the apps folder at root there is - MMM, NEOGAMMA, Priiloader + cIOS38_rev17-Installer.dol
    There is a Bootmii folder
    Another NeoGamma at the root of the SD card
    Another folder at the root called 'private' which then goes onto another folder called 'wii' with a few files, and also has a folder called 'title' then another called 'aktn'
    Then at the root another folder called 'wad' With cios and ios files in
    Then following at the root theres a boot.elf, hacks, installer, and a few IOS files.

    Can't callibrate my wii remote to her with either. All she brought down was the actually wii, as I had cables for my own and wii remote....could that be why it won't callibrate?
     
  5. OriginalHamster

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,291
    Country:
    Chile
    Cables are standart, they work for every Wii.
    To sync your Wiimote to your mom Wii go here: http://www.nintendo....e-sync-standard

    Remember sync your mom's Wiimote again once the work is done.
    Good luck =)
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers OriginalHamster, it's been so long since I've been near a wii I have forgotten most of it.
    Put a regular disc in, went to disc channel and it made a strange churning sounds then says 'Unable to read disc. Check wii operations manual.'
     
  7. OriginalHamster

    Member OriginalHamster UStealthy

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,291
    Country:
    Chile
    That means:
    a) Your Wii lens is borked
    b) Your game is scratched
    or
    b) It needs update some IOS (which is improvable cause game disc install necessary IOS)

    Your mom said she deleted Hombrew Channel and NeoGamma, but that shouldn't affect your Wii, you only lost the ability of launch backups, but original ones should play just normal.
    I had a bad Wii lens too, if you have a Gamecube game by chance try with that, Wii lens like Gamecube games, just to make sure it's a problem with your lens and not your system internal settings.

    =)
     
  8. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    Ok. Tell us which system menu do you have (check wii settings for this, it can be 3.4, 4.0,4.1,4.2 or 4.3U).

    Depending on the system menu you have, you'll have to run an exploit to run hackmii installer, and install the latest Homebrew Channel. And start from there.

    ps: follow a good guide to rehack your wii
     
  9. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @OriginalHamster - I have tried several of my own regular discs and it comes up with the same message. If it doesn't sound like and IOS problem then could the culprit be the lens

    @ Coto it's ver.4.2E I don't think she is too bothered about having the wii re-hacked to play burnt games cause they have recieved loads as presents on birthdays etc. She would be happy if it would just play a game!
     
  10. Pong20302000

    Member Pong20302000 making notes on everything

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    8,076
    Location:
    One's inner self
    Country:
    Japan
    lol well if lens you cant play any games, burnt or un-burnt
    USB/SD card loader maybe only option
     
  11. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is id DEFINATLY the lens? And how much would it take to get it fixed? Is there a way of finding out before replacing it if it is goosed??
     
  12. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    Ok- Then install Homebrew Channel (1.0.8) then priiloader (0.7) as an anti-brick measure. You'll need to update your iosses as maybe your mom did a update without notice.

    And 4.2 has some mod-chip blocking measures (if that wii is chipped). The lens'd go bad too, luckily, you can get someone to replace the lens without replacing the whole DVD drive (a cheap option I've done in the past..)
     
  13. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @ Coto, gone to SD card on wii men and continued on through to 'Install The Homebrew Channel' but I can't see Priiloader, just Bootmii and Install/uninstall DVDX
     
  14. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    Ok.

    Go to hbc.hackmii.com/

    download the hackmii installer

    plug your SD card your computer, then extract the "boot.dol" file to (SD, which can be E:/,F:/,G:/, etc, you know, the device mounted) SD:/apps/(make a newfolder, called HBC)/boot.dol

    Every app run off Homebrew Channel read apps like this, so don't forget it.

    Then plug the SD card back inside the Wii SD slot, run Homebrew channel, then run the installer you just put on HBC/boot.dol. Upgrade the existing HBC by going through 'Install The Homebrew Channel' (the installer must be v1.0.8!!), then reinstall bootmii (as IOS, and boot2 if possible).
     
  15. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @ Coto - done everything without a glitch, couldn't find the v 1.0.8 anywhere on the screen, still won't play games via disc channel.

    Am at the screen with Multi-Mod Manager, Neogamma and Priiloader....should I install priiloader now?
     
  16. Coto

    Member Coto GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    Chile
    If the Homebrew Channel layout (ocean-like) has changed, then you have the latest HBC, press HOME button to check what version you have. To play games via disc channel, you need to know if either, your wii was chipped or softmodded.

    Your best bet now is to simply follow a guide to rehack your wii, it'll be easier to understand for you.
     
  17. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    On the screen I am seeing with the 3 options there are bubbles in the background, should I install priiloaderor anything before going back to the main menu?

    My wii was softmodded
     
  18. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ooooh I see now! It says 1.0.6 then under it says IOS61 v21.29
    Can you point me to any tutorials?
     
  19. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    You shouldve just used modmii and followed the generated guide, you'd be done an hour ago.
     
  20. WeeBabyDoll
    OP

    Member WeeBabyDoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    But someone else gave me different instructions...how can I update the homebrew channel etc? Please someone help :(
     

Share This Page