I think its time for my Wii to update.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Algernon, Sep 11, 2011.

Sep 11, 2011
  1. Algernon
    OP

    Newcomer Algernon Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I've had my Wii hacked for almost a year now, and I'm sort of wondering how I go about updating the hacked files on my wii to meet whatever current standards there may be.
    I've heard of pimpmywii and I've used it before to update... I just don't outright trust it and I've heard of other people bricking because of it so I'd rather stay away from it.

    So I suppose the things I should update are my Wii menu, possibly some IOS files or whatever they're called.

    Is there just one solid installer I could use to overwrite all of my outdated files? That would do me well.
    Really I just need help updating everything to what's currently being used if anyone would like to assist me in this process.
     
  2. Lacius

    Member Lacius GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,911
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Country:
    United States
    Use ModMii to update your Wii's IOS files and whatnot. It will also recommend that you update your system menu to 4.1.
     
  3. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Hello, please use modmii to (re)hack and update your wii, the thread is sticky [​IMG]
    You don't need to use other programs, it will do everything you want.
     
  4. kirbymaster101

    Member kirbymaster101 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,048
    Country:
    Canada
    choose the first option on modmii and tell ur wii thats its a virgin.
    Then it will automatically update all the ioses for u. You probably dont have to reinsall the homebrew channel.
     
  5. Algernon
    OP

    Newcomer Algernon Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Everything went better than expected. It even seems to run just a bit better as well.

    I still get a wiimote disconnect bug on Wario Shake It, but... I always did so I'm guessing it's just my copy.
     
  6. kirbymaster101

    Member kirbymaster101 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,048
    Country:
    Canada
    umm at the save screen? If it is then u have the slow hdd bug that can be fixed with d2x cios which u should have installed using modmii.
     
  7. caaraa

    Banned caaraa Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    You don't need to use other programs, it will do everything you want.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. KTroopA

    Member KTroopA GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm on 4.0U and plan to use Modmii to update IOSs and the system menu. Is 4.1 the best choice and will doing any of this mean I have to reinstall HBC? I trust all hacks and Cios are retained?
     
  9. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Just follow modmii, the choices modmii makes are alright, just do what modmii wants to.
     
  10. KTroopA

    Member KTroopA GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cool [​IMG] will update cheers
     

Share This Page