I think I screwed it up.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by TonyCool, Dec 5, 2007.

Dec 5, 2007

I think I screwed it up. by TonyCool at 6:55 PM (1,146 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. TonyCool
    OP

    Member TonyCool GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Country:
    Spain
    Hi friends. I need a bit of help. I have a WiiKey and recently updated to 1.9g firmware. The update worked fine (now I'm downloaded SMG to test it out). I tried 2 Wii backups (Simpsons and MP3C) and they worked fine. Then I burned the Config disk, it booted OK. I configured a few settings about region free and saved them. It rebooted and after that, when I tried to boot config disk again (it showed GC logo), I got black screen and DRE message about removing disk and turning off . I tried booting again a Wii game and booted OK.

    I think I screwed it and now I can't boot GC backups (although I don't have any yet). Can any of you halp me?? I want to state it's a PAL console and I burned PAL update and PAL config disk 1.3g, and PAL Wii Backups. I have 3.1E firmware.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
  3. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
    edit .. someone beat me to it
     
  4. TonyCool
    OP

    Member TonyCool GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Country:
    Spain
    The fact is that I don't have a GC controller... and no way to get one...

    It seemed to me that you wrote a link about a "pre-patched" config disk or something like that...
     
  5. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, that thread's first post contains "pre-patched" config discs. That's what you need. Since your Wii is at 3.0E or 3.1E it doesn't like the header information on some of your GC discs. These discs contain the executables of the WiiKey config disc and since it has GCOS header information your Wii will allow it to run. Turning on region free on your WiiKey will allow it to ignore the header information on the GC discs and run all of them.

    If you don't have a controller then read on to the end of the thread. It will show you another thread where you can hex edit the config disc and 'trick' the Wii into loading your existing 1.3 config disc. This may have been covered on GBATemp as well, but I'm not sure where it is.
     
  6. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
  7. TonyCool
    OP

    Member TonyCool GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Country:
    Spain
    Thanks sidneyyoung but I have a small doubt. I have the "original" 1.3 Wiikey Setup Disk, now I have to burn the hexed version of it AND the GCOS disk? or if I burn the hexed, I don't need it?
     
  8. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    You don't need the GCOS disk. GCOS requires use of the controller, that's why it won't work for you.

    You just need to hex edit the 1.3 config image, burn it, and do the swap trick with your original 1.3 config like it says in steps 6-8.
     
  9. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    you do have a way of getting a gamecube controller: it's called the internet [​IMG]
     

Share This Page